Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Prefork and HTTP2

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by JacobPerkins, Jul 19, 2017.

Tags:
  1. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I currently run Customized cPanel Default with only PHP 5.6 and PHP 7.0.


    I also saw that HTTP 2 does now work.


    So, I tried it with mod_mpm_event noticed that mod_ruid2 is disabled and I would have make permission changes on directories and files so websites can work properly.


    I like the performance mod_mpm_prefork gives me.


    I like the idea using HTTP 2 because it’s features are newer and better than the old way and my concerns are,


    I want to keep PHP 5.6 and PHP 7.0 because there are websites on my servers that do not work with PHP 7.0 because software vendors have not yet updated to use PHP 7 so they are stuck with PHP 5.6 for now.


    SuPHP is great but has performance issues and that is why I am using the Customized cPanel Default.


    Does mod_mpm_event gives better performance to SuPHP?


    OR


    Is there a better way of doing this be able to use HTTP 2?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Mod event + suphp + php-fpm is a very compliant one.

    I use it smoothly on many servers.

    Prefork is cumbersome and an old mpm.
     
  3. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That works

    But I found 2 other issues after doing setting things up

    Problem 1

    Cannot use PHP Handler SuPHP at least on my end websites are broken and even checked permissions on files and folders which are correctly set for SuPHP.

    SuPHP is no biggie for me and PHP Handler CGI still works fine.


    Problem 2

    Problem 2 is towards HTTP 2 with SSL

    When you run a SSL Server Test on the domain that is running HTTP 2 with an SSL it comes up with Server negotiated HTTP/2 with blacklisted suite

    Also browsers crash when you pull up a website HTTP 2 with SSL and you have refresh the page and website comes up fine.


    So this in mind the SSL Cipher Suite needs to be updated to work with HTTP 2 for those that using SSL's with HTTP 2.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,272
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,272
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    To update, internal case EA-6600 is open to determine how to best handle HTTP2 compatibility with the Prefork MPM (i.e. if a conflict should occur when attempting to enable both of them in an EA4 profile). I'll monitor this case and update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Hosted Power

    Hosted Power Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Belgium
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    suphp with mpm_event is not a solution for us since opcache is incompatible. We also use mod_ruid2 for best performance...

    Only solution I see to quickly solve it without compatibility problems is to use nginx in front of apache2. Or trying php-fpm , but not sure how we could have correct user permissions (want to run php process as account user) and still having best possible performance.
     
  7. JacobPerkins

    JacobPerkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    We attempted to make Prefork and H2 compatible, but we were not very successful. As such, we are releasing a hard conflict today between the http2 and prefork packages.

    If you have both packages installed, you will not be able to update until you remove the http2 package. We've released an autofixer to assist with this. If you try to 'yum update' and you get conflict errors about http2 and prefork, you can run this script via ROOT on the command line / SSH:

    Code:
    /scripts/autorepair ea4_address_mod_http2_conflict_with_mod_mpm_prefork
     
  8. msruby64

    msruby64 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I currently run MPM Prefork, DSO handler, and Opcache and would like to run HTTP/2. Are you still working on compatibility?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,272
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. grabyourhosting

    grabyourhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It says: Fixed in v1.10.7

    Is it alright to use this with mod_ruid2 now? Shouldn't change the conflict and allow it now?
     
    #30 grabyourhosting, Oct 25, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2017
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,272
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @grabyourhosting,

    The "Fixed" status on the Apache bug report is not to indicate the two technologies have been made compatible:

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    grabyourhosting likes this.
  12. grabyourhosting

    grabyourhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  13. Andy83

    Andy83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I thought of installing http2 using EasyApache. However, I was prompted the following.
    --
    The following conflicts are installed on this machine. They will be removed as part of this package selection:
    mod_cgi
    php71-php
    mod_mpm_prefork

    The following requirements are not installed on this machine. They will be added as part of this package selection:
    mod_http2

    --

    What will be the replacement modules for mod_cgi and php71-php?

    Please advise if I should install mpm worker and mod_suphp? What other modules are required?

    Do I need PHP-FPM?

    I look forward to your reply. Thank you.
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,272
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    When you click "Continue", you will receive an additional prompt that states the following:

    Your selection removed ea-apache24-mod_mpm_prefork. An MPM package must exist on your system. Click “Continue” to select a new MPM package. Click “Cancel” to cancel this operation.

    suPHP and/or PHP-FPM with the Event MPM is an alternative that will allow you to use HTTP2. There is some discussion of this in the earlier posts.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I currently use Event and HTTP2 and this works for now.

    Questions...

    I would like to know if Prefork and HTTP2 or mod_ruid2 and HTTP2 is compatible yet?

    or

    I would like to know if Prefork and HTTP2 or mod_ruid2 and HTTP2 is being worked on for compatibly yet?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,272
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @vlee,

    No, Prefork and HTTP2 are not compatible due to the technology behind how they are developed. I've not seen anything to suggest this will change in the future. You can find more technical details on why this is the case at:

    Pony Mail!
    mod_http2(v1.10.6) causes segmentation fault · Issue #142 · icing/mod_h2 · GitHub

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you

    I am just trying to find the best way on doing this with performance as well allowing the use of many different mod's and extensions as possible. But still keeping things secured.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice