The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pretty new to stuff... basic questions [moved]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TheParamount, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. TheParamount

    TheParamount Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Pretty new to stuff... basic questions

    I'm pretty much new to webdesign. I've purchased a domain through 1and1.com then purchased a hosting package through www.onehost.ws. Unfortunatly its hard to find personlized support if any from either site. I made my website using frontpage and have used the file manager to upload all of my files. I put all these .htm files into the puiblic html folder. Also I've forarded my domain to my ip from the host Now that I've gotten that set I'm having trouble having my page load onto the domain. I do not see the page load up all I see is a cpanel green screen.

    So I guess the question is how do I make the host recognize my frontpage.
     
  2. IberHosting

    IberHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello TheParamount,

    this forum is not for support to final users, you need to ask the support of your provider :)


    Antonio
     
  3. TheParamount

    TheParamount Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ??? I want to learn how to use cpanel.
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  5. TheParamount

    TheParamount Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay... one specific question. Should my .htaccess files be empty. And if not how do I get them to the right stuff?
     
  6. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    You can use it to set up specific permissions to a particular directory. So that should be empty unless you added some rules.
     

Share This Page