The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Prevent cpanel login page showing server name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by squadx, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. squadx

    squadx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am assuming this is the way I have my VPS setup, but where or how would I change this.

    I've added a few sites onto my server...

    When I navigate to mywebsite.com/cpanel instead of going to mywebsite.com/cpanel...

    it redirects to my server1.VPS.COM

    How do I prevent that redirect and just have it stay on the mywebsite domain?
     
  2. squadx

    squadx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Anyone have any help for this...i've been looking for days, an I must be missing something. There has to be a reason this redirects to the server name instead of just staying on the website URL
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might like to review your settings here:
    WHM > Server Configuration > Tweak Settings, Redirection tab.
     
  4. squadx

    squadx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have changed these settings, but I am starting to get the impression the setting that was there when the account was created is what holds. Because even after restarting associated services with it and stuff, it still redirects to the server instead of staying on the domain.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might check the .htaccess on the account to see if there's a redirect set in there doing this.
     
  6. squadx

    squadx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I actually just changed the setting to "Origin Domain Name" added a quick test domain and it works as it should, but not it appears the site i have on there doesn't load cpanel at all. Verynice, is there a location to manually edit these files through ssh?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Manually edit which files? The .htaccess file I mentioned if there is one would be in public_html of the account.
     
  8. squadx

    squadx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    No, the hosts/dns files that control the redirect options (tweak settings > redirect options)? When I change those settings it has no affect on sites i've already created. But when I created a new site with the new settings it handles it how I want it to.

    So apparently whatever those settings change, don't modify current site hosts file or where it's storing this information
     
Loading...

Share This Page