Prevent forwarded e-mails going to inbox

ramasaig

Member
Aug 25, 2007
9
1
53
Isle of Mull, Scotland
I have several domains with e-mail accounts which exist only to forward e-mails to a master account (on another domain) from which they are downloaded to my e-mail client. The messages are successfully forwarded, but they are also retained in the account's inbox, which eventually becomes full. At that point the messages are still forwarded, but the sender gets a 'mailbox full' message, which misleadingly suggests failure.
Is there any way to prevent forwarded messages being accumulated in the inbox? I know I can go and empty the inbox periodically, but if there were a way to avoid that it would be helpful.
 

quietFinn

Well-Known Member
Feb 4, 2006
1,708
353
438
Finland
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Remove the mailbox but keep the forwarder.
 

ramasaig

Member
Aug 25, 2007
9
1
53
Isle of Mull, Scotland
Thank you. I have now deleted the e-mail account, so it cannot now fill up with mails (forwarded or not). This will save the occasional warnings from my server, but will no doubt be a diappointment to those who love to e-mail and tell me that my inbox is full...
 
  • Like
Reactions: cPRex

Rachel S

Member
Apr 28, 2022
22
4
3
United States
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Suppose your account inbox is becoming full and getting a “mailbox Full” message. You can fix it by creating an Email filter from the cPanel account. Below are steps to set an Email filter from the cPanel account.

Step 1: First login to cPanel
Step 2: Open Email Filter
Step 3: Click on the manage filters for the email where you want to set email forwarding.
Step 4: Click on the create a new filter.

In the rules, Choose “Any Header” and “Contains.”
>> In the box given below, add the email in which you want to apply the forwarding rule.

In the Action section. Choose “Redirect To Email”
>> In the box given below, Add the forwarding email where you need to forward the email.

Step 5: Click on the create button.

By doing so, The emails will be deleted from the inbox, and you will not get any message such as “Mailbox Full.”