Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Previewing a website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fullfatdesigns, Oct 21, 2015.

  1. fullfatdesigns

    fullfatdesigns Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    I'm using the method http://XX.XX.XX.XX/~accountname to preview a wordpress site before pointing the domain to our server, but its re-directing to the actual domain instead.

    I have disabled mod_userdir Protection and I'm sure I have used this method before OK to preview a site.

    Am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks
    Wayne
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is the domain configured in the settings for the website?
     
  3. fullfatdesigns

    fullfatdesigns Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I entered the domain when setting up the account in whm, but the actual domain settings (IP and nameservers) are currently configured to the existing web server with someone else.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. fullfatdesigns

    fullfatdesigns Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah, of course. It must be getting the domain when accessing the site. OK, thanks... I'll see if I can work-around this...
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Good luck with this.
     
  7. David P. Levey Jr.

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Alabama, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You may also want to check and see if the website has an .htaccess rule for redirection. The wp-config.php file is most likely the culprit for your issue, however I recommend checking .htaccess as well.

    Ultimately in my experience, I've had the best results with modifying your local hosts file for migration "testing", however.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    David P. Levey Jr. likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page