Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

primary namserver weirdness - can't create new account!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nihow, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. nihow

    nihow Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I'm trying to set up a new account in WHM, but account setup fails.
    Anyone have any ideas on how to solve this?

    I'm experiencing a number of problems/symptoms:
    1.

    1.Only my secondary nameserver address appears in the 'Add Account' form page.

    2.In 'Server Configuration > Basic CPanel/WHM setup', the field 'Primary Nameserver Setup' displays the correct nameserver, but the HTML that normally displays is missing- in its place is a blank space. Ordinarily, this would read:
    Code:
    Primary Nameserver
    [I]* Enter the hostname of the primary nameserver you wish to use when creating new domains or subdomains.[/I]
    
    Assign IP Address  |  Add an A entry for this server
    
    [I]Examples: ns.myhost.com, ns1.myhost.com, dns1.mydomain.com[/I]
    3. When I fill out the form and press 'Create', I get the a pop-up window that tells me to 'Setup a nameserver', then a failure message following that reads:

    Code:
     Create a new Account
    Account Creation Status: failed (Please setup a nameserver)
    Please setup a nameserver
    In WHM, under 'Networking setup > Nameserver IPs', the correct IPs and addresses are set for my private nameservers. Likewise, the settings in 'Networking setup > Resolver configuration' are correct (my private nameservers).

    I've checked /etc/nameserverips, and it reads:
    Code:
    111.111.111.111=0
    222.222.222.222=ns1.myprivateserver.example
    333.333.333.333=ns2.myprivateserver.example
    444.444.444.444=0
    I've also checked /etc/wwwacct.conf, it looks correct:
    Code:
    NS1 ns1.myprivateserver.example
    NS2 ns2.myprivateserver.example
    I've also checked /etc/resolv.conf, and it too seems to be correct:
    Code:
    nameserver 222.222.222.222
    nameserver 333.333.333.333
    The zone file for the domain contains A entries for the both nameservers.

    Lastly, here's an anonymised copy of my named.conf file. I can't see anything out of the ordinary in it either.
    Code:
    include "/etc/rndc.key";
    
    controls {
    	inet 127.0.0.1 allow { localhost; } keys { "rndc-key"; };
    };
    
    options {
        /* make named use port 53 for the source of all queries, to allow
             * firewalls to block all ports except 53:
             */
    
        // query-source    port 53;
    
        /* We no longer enable this by default as the dns posion exploit
            has forced many providers to open up their firewalls a bit */
    
        // Put files that named is allowed to write in the data/ directory:
        directory                "/var/named"; // the default
        pid-file                 "/var/run/named/named.pid";
        dump-file                "data/cache_dump.db";
        statistics-file          "data/named_stats.txt";
       /* memstatistics-file     "d	ata/named_mem_stats.txt"; */
    
    /* OpenDNS forwarders */
    forwarders { 208.67.222.222; 208.67.220.220; };
    
    };
    
    logging {
    /*      If you want to enable debugging, eg. using the 'rndc trace' command,
     *      named will try to write the 'named.run' file in the $directory (/var/named").
     *      By default, SELinux policy does not allow named to modify the /var/named" directory,
     *      so put the default debug log file in data/ :
     */
        channel default_debug {
                file "data/named.run";
                severity dynamic;
        };
    };
    
    // All BIND 9 zones are in a "view", which allow different zones to be served
    // to different types of client addresses, and for options to be set for groups
    // of zones.
    //
    // By default, if named.conf contains no "view" clauses, all zones are in the
    // "default" view, which matches all clients.
    //
    // If named.conf contains any "view" clause, then all zones MUST be in a view;
    // so it is recommended to start off using views to avoid having to restructure
    // your configuration files in the future.
    
    view "localhost_resolver" {
    /* This view sets up named to be a localhost resolver ( caching only nameserver ).
     * If all you want is a caching-only nameserver, then you need only define this view:
     */
        match-clients         { 127.0.0.0/24; };
        match-destinations    { localhost; };
        recursion yes;
    
        zone "." IN {
            type hint;
            file "/var/named/named.ca";
        };
    
        /* these are zones that contain definitions for all the localhost
         * names and addresses, as recommended in RFC1912 - these names should
         * ONLY be served to localhost clients:
         */
        include "/var/named/named.rfc1912.zones";
    };
    
    view "internal" {
    /* This view will contain zones you want to serve only to "internal" clients
       that connect via your directly attached LAN interfaces - "localnets" .
     */
        match-clients        { localnets; };
        match-destinations    { localnets; };
        recursion yes;
    
        zone "." IN {
            type hint;
            file "/var/named/named.ca";
        };
    
        // include "/var/named/named.rfc1912.zones";
        // you should not serve your rfc1912 names to non-localhost clients.
    
        // These are your "authoritative" internal zones, and would probably
        // also be included in the "localhost_resolver" view above :
    
    zone "exampledomain.com" {
    	type master;
    	file "/var/named/exampledomain.com.db";
    };
    
    zone "exampledomain2.com" {
    	type master;
    	file "/var/named/exampledomain2.com.db";
    };
    
    zone "exampledomain3.com" {
    	type master;
    	file "/var/named/exampledomain3.db";
    };
    
    
    };
    
    view    "external" {
    /* This view will contain zones you want to serve only to "external" clients
     * that have addresses that are not on your directly attached LAN interface subnets:
     */
        recursion no;
        // you'd probably want to deny recursion to external clients, so you don't
        // end up providing free DNS service to all takers
    
        // all views must contain the root hints zone:
        zone "." IN {
            type hint;
            file "/var/named/named.ca";
        };
    
        // These are your "authoritative" external zones, and would probably
        // contain entries for just your web and mail servers:
    
        // BEGIN external zone entries
    
    zone "exampledomain.com" {
    	type master;
    	file "/var/named/exampledomain.com.db";
    };
    
    zone "exampledomain2.com" {
    	type master;
    	file "/var/named/exampledomain2.com.db";
    };
    
    zone "exampledomain3.com" {
    	type master;
    	file "/var/named/exampledomain3.db";
    };
    
    };
    
    
    
     
    #1 nihow, Apr 6, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  2. raysolomon

    raysolomon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    153
    If your website is hosted with ThePlanet, then you might be experiencing some dns issues because there is a denial of service attack going on at the moment.
    I called them to confirm this when I first saw it happening.

    I think it started around 9 PM today. It is still going on and it may last for hours and there is no way to know when it will stop.

    WHM is acting funny to me too. And a few of my sites are down, but others are not.
     
    #2 raysolomon, Apr 6, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2009
  3. nihow

    nihow Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I'm hosted at VPSLink, and my problem predates the DoS attack you mention.
     
  4. servertechs

    servertechs Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    India
    Please ensure that cPanel has latest stable version
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice