The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Private IP problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fuzzie, Nov 24, 2002.

  1. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Everyday, I get this email message:

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (hostname) resolves to PUBLIC IP. It should resolve to 192.168.0.1. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.

    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.


    You may be able to automaticly correct this problem by using the ' Add an A entry for your hostname ' under ' Dns Functions ' in your Web Host Manager


    Can't seem to fix it...I have tried the detailed name server post, but no luck...everything else works.
     
  2. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Still getting this.

    Here is my resolv.conf
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 205.166.61.XXX
    nameserver 205.166.61.XXX

    Here is my hosts:
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    192.168.0.1 [hostname.domain.com] [hostname]
    204.251.188.XXX host

    Should I just comment out the 192.168.0.1 in hosts?
    Thanks
     
  3. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    what is the base ip of your server?

    what ever it is remove all entry's from your /etc/hosts file and put this...

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    &your.base.ip& hostname.domain.com hostname


    example: if your servers base ip (eth0) was 1.2.3.4 adn the server was named server1.yourhost.com

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    1.2.3.4 server1.yourhost.com server1



    Also the nameserver 120.0.0.1 entry in your /etc/resolv.conf is a no no. You should change it to nameserver &your.base.ip&
     
  4. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Worked!
    Thanks!
     
  5. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now my daily emaing warns me of this (how do I stop this?):

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (hostname.domain.com)[changed] resolves to 204.251.188.XXX. It should resolve to 192.168.0.1. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.

    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you believe everything else is correct.


    You may be able to automaticly correct this problem by using the ' Add an A entry for your hostname ' under ' Dns Functions ' in your Web Host Manager
     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=7041

    Might provide some help.
     
  7. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope. It was happening before that attack.
    Any other ideas?
    Thanks.
     
  8. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    whats the machines hostname? does it resolve to the base ip of that server? i had this issue way back cant remember what i did.


    you could just reinstall the mailserver... (maybe the easy way out?)

    rpm -e exim --nodeps
    rm /etc/localdomains
    /scripts/sysup
    /scripts/updateuserdomains
    /scripts/mailperms
     
  9. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    linux.vohslaw.com --how do I check?

    I'll try that, thanks.
     
  10. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:121497c9e7][i:121497c9e7]Originally posted by fuzzie[/i:121497c9e7]

    Still getting this.

    Here is my resolv.conf
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 205.166.61.XXX
    nameserver 205.166.61.XXX

    Here is my hosts:
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    192.168.0.1 [hostname.domain.com] [hostname]
    204.251.188.XXX host

    Should I just comment out the 192.168.0.1 in hosts?
    Thanks[/quote:121497c9e7]I would make the following changes:

    resolv.conf
    nameserver 127.0.0.1

    hosts
    192.168.0.1 hostname.domain.com hostname HOSTNAME HOSTNAME.domain.com
    127.0.0.1 localhost


    Reasons for changes:

    resolv.conf
    nameserver 205.166.61.XXX
    nameserver 205.166.61.XXX

    No doubt those IP's are your DC's and now that you are using your own DNS, are not required.

    hosts
    192.168.0.1 [hostname.domain.com] [hostname]
    204.251.188.XXX host

    Only the localhost and Server IP are required and I'm not sure why the square brackets are used -- or even if required. Upper & lower casing in my suggestion is used to cover both possible uses.


    Next

    Check your httpd.conf and make sure the following is before any other virtual host entry:

    NameVirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx:80

    &VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx&
    ServerName hostname.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    BytesLog domlogs/hostname.domain.com-bytes.log
    &/VirtualHost&

    xx.xx.xx.xx is of course, the IP address for your Server -- usually first registered IP and probably the one mentioned above.

    Not knowing what your Server setup is, the above is only a suggestion based on using Linux RH 7.3 WHM v5.x.

    A record for &domain.com& would be:

    NS1 14400 A xx.xx.xx.xx
    NS2 14400 A xx.xx.xx.xx
     
  11. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wow, thanks a lot.
    I used the [ ] brackets to replace my actual IP but i guess that was not necessary.

    I made the changes to resolv.conf and hosts. Thanks again.

    I tried to make the changes to httpd.conf, boy is that file messed up. I may have to figure out how to delete and rebuild it.

    I also added a dns entry for vohslaw.com with just the ns and ns2 A records. Do I need anything else in there? Is it important that vohslaw.com main ns is on an IIS box, and that is where my main mail goes for now?

    Can I send you my root password to let you look at this?
     
  12. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your welcome for the help, fuzzy, and it was only because you provided some good information that I was able to give a &hopefully& good reply. Not sure if the problem is fixed though, as it still sounds like you are still having problems?

    192.168.0.1 - Connection refused
    vohslaw.com - works find

    It does show &vohslaw.com& as being on Lame Nameservers though.

    ns.vohslaw.com. [66.59.109.152] [TTL=172800]
    ns2.vohslaw.com. [204.251.188.1] [TTL=172800]

    Is &vohslaw.com& supposed to be connected with this box:

    Canonical name: linux.vohslaw.com
    Addresses: 204.251.188.1

    I'm not sure just where 192.168.0.1 is supposed to come in?

    I've never worked on a MS Server so not comfortable with someone else's production Server using it. Sorry.
     
  13. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    192.168.0.1 - Connection refused
    -This is a private IP on my home network, the Actual IP is 204.251.188.1

    It does show &vohslaw.com& as being on Lame Nameservers though.
    -Where?

    ns.vohslaw.com. [66.59.109.152] [TTL=172800]
    -IIS machine, colocated at ISP
    ns2.vohslaw.com. [204.251.188.1] [TTL=172800]
    -Home cpanel machine, DSL

    Is &vohslaw.com& supposed to be connected with this box:
    -As a backup mail server to 66.59.109.152 and a web/mail/ftp server for a few cpanel domains
    Canonical name: linux.vohslaw.com
    Addresses: 204.251.188.1

    I'm not sure just where 192.168.0.1 is supposed to come in?
    -Private IP, this machine works as my gateway for the rest of the house.
    I've never worked on a MS Server so not comfortable with someone else's production Server using it. Sorry.
    -I hope to get rid of the IIS box soon!
     
  14. fuzzie

    fuzzie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a ton to Website Rob for his help!

    Still getting the email but everything is working fine. I think it is related to having the Cpanel machine on my home LAN. I can live with deleting this daily message!
     
  15. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No sweat, fuzzie and you're welcome.

    here come 'da fuzz, here come 'da fuzz

    couldn't resist :p
     
Loading...

Share This Page