The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Privileges necessary for remote cPanel / WHM usage

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by Jason B, Feb 15, 2012.

1. Jason B

Jason B Member

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Good evening,

I'm a veteran Linux developer, but only marginally familiar with Web technologies. I've been reading through the cPanel and WHM API discussion in the documentation (and on some forum threads), and I have a question on access privileges.

All of the examples using the WHM API to create cPanel accounts on a remote server (the XML and JSON 'createacct' API function) authenticate to WHM on the target server using root access. Is it necessary to authenticate as root to execute all of the remote API commands?

I assume it is not necessary to run the script (the PHP script, say) as root on the local server in any case. Is that true? Basically I would like to be able to use a PHP script back-ending a Web GUI to manage a remotely hosted website via WHM, with that script having minimal access.

Thanks for considering my questions, and please let me know if there's anything I'm not thinking of and should be!

Jason

2. cPanelDavidN

cPanelDavidN Integration Developer
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Jason,

You are correct: the local sever (which makes the remote call to the cPanel server) can run your PHP (Perl, or otherwise) code as whoever is appropriate, be it 'www', 'apache', a user, or root. That's entirely up to your implementation, aka your Web GUI. cPanel provides a PHP client class, as well as a Perl one, just for this; see our GitHub page.