The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem cannot restore from cpbackup

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by joy, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. joy

    joy Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dear all,

    i have problem when try to restore cpbackup in cpanel. i have set on configure backup and set destination to /backup, and before that i have already mounted my hdd backup. and i have checked the data still there (daily backup)
    after i save the configure backup, i go to restore backup and select daily backup. but there is empty in the box, there's nothing. i have checked and remounting again but still nothing, i tried another way but still no use. please can you help. thank you
     
  2. procam

    procam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If Im understanding what you wrote you are trying to run a restore from your backup drive
    Go to Main >> Backup >> Configure Backup in cpanel WHM
    and set to restore only
    Then try to run your restore it should work fine!!
     
  3. joy

    joy Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    still not work, i dont know why? i tried to check from hdd and mounting it and there's still my data backup. i do step by step to restore the cpbackup, and i point restore only in backup configuration. but still the same problem, it's not work the box is empty.
    and i tried this way to http://forum.ev1servers.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=38797, but still not work.

    regards,
     
  4. RobM

    RobM Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In your backup directory is there a .gz files or is it listed as user/
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Do you have 2 HDs on your server, or just one HD? If you have one HD, did you assign /backup to a separate partition?
     
  6. joy

    joy Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have 2 hdd, one as my backup. and i set as /backup. and i mounted to /backup. and when i see the folder there still my users data (daily and monthly). but still blank when i go to restore backup. i give up and i decided to pay admin ($30 / hour) to check the problem :rolleyes:

    but they dont want tell me how to fix it :rolleyes: they secret maybe :)

    is there any have same problem like me, just want to know how to fix it next time if i have this problem again (but i hope it's not happen again :D )

    best regards,
     
  7. systemtek

    systemtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire, England
    To some people knowledge=power
    Its your right to ask what was done and for them to tell you, same if you had someone out to fix your car and they took the money off you and sais its fixed but im not telling you what i did. I have seen quite a few contractors try this one in the past on me/my customers and it dont work. You paid its your right to know what they did.
     
Loading...

Share This Page