Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Problem creating mysql users when options were change in the mysql configuration

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by coolfiger, Nov 10, 2013.

  1. coolfiger

    coolfiger Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good Day,

    We recently activated STRICT_TRANS_TABLES which is a global mysql setting. about 15 of our clients use this feature and require it on.

    Since we turned this account on we cannot create any mysql accounts . Se the attached file for the error.

    ran adminbin cpanel/cpmysql/Adduser

    Capture.PNG

    From all my reading there seems to be no way to overcome this except turning the strict trans option off.

    Can you suggest any solutions ?
     
  2. iserversupport

    iserversupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Which is your MySQL version and what is the output of "mysqladmin variables | grep sql_mode" ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. coolfiger

    coolfiger Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    this is the output from your cmd
    # mysqladmin variables | grep sql_mode
    | sql_mode | STRICT_TRANS_TABLES

    Server version: 5.1.70-cll - MySQL Community Server (GPL)

    - - - Updated - - -

    forgot to include cpanel version WHM 11.38.2 (build 12)
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Check to see if you have an additional my.cnf file added to the system. EX:

    Code:
    /usr/my.cnf
    Also, what's the specific entry you have in /etc/my.cnf related to this variable?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. coolfiger

    coolfiger Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    there is no additional my.cnf file on the server, the only one is /etc/my.cnf, and the variable in question within it is:
    sql_mode=STRICT_TRANS_TABLES

    Actually here is the entire my.cnf content if you will need it:
    root@xxxx.d [~]# cat /etc/my.cnf
    [mysqld]
    max_connections=500
    log-slow-queries
    #safe-show-database
    sql_mode=STRICT_TRANS_TABLES
    #skip-networking
    skip-locking
    connect_timeout=300
    key_buffer=16M
    join_buffer=1M
    record_buffer=1M
    sort_buffer=2M
    table_cache=1028
    thread_cache_size=286
    max_allowed_packet=5M
    wait_timeout=300
    query_cache_limit=1M
    query_cache_size=32M
    query_cache_type=1
    thread_concurrency=2
    local-infile=0
    open_files_limit=13756
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I suggest opening a bug report if you are using a version of MySQL that supports this value:

    Submit A Bug Report

    You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. coolfiger

    coolfiger Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    a ticket has been opened for this

    Support Request Id 4396343
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    To update, it looks like this option did remain enabled on MySQL 5.1 after restarting MySQL.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice