The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem doing Full Backup in cPanel to a remote FTP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nunoleite, Jul 5, 2013.

  1. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi!
    In cPanel when i try to create a full backup to a remote ftp, the backup file is created the access to remote FTP is started, but immediately after the login to the FTP server, the file is deleted from the home dir and then the transfer is aborted with nothing transfered.

    Now i will explain more in detail what is happening...
    I used to be a reseller on a shared server and then this kind of backups worked perfectly. Now i have changed to a VPS and this started to happen.

    I have a client with 500MB quota and he is using 380MB. The backup created uses 280MB.
    If i make a full backup just to store in the home dir, it works ok and the file remain there. This file have user/group 0/0 as root not counting to quota of the user.
    If i make a full backup to send to a remote FTP, it creates the file and immediately after the file is deleted.
    One thing i have detected it that this only happens with accounts that where the quota are exceeded when the backup file is created.
    But remember that it was working a week ago on a shared server with same user as a reseller that it is created in my new VPS.

    So, what am i missing here?

    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Is this backup archive deleted from the remote FTP server? Is there a quota enabled for that account on the remote FTP server? Or, is it possible the backup archive is never fully stored on the remote server?

    Thank you.
     
  3. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi!
    The only thing that reaches the remote FTP is the login, the allo with the size of the file, and then immediately quits with nothing stored.
    As i'm making tests at this moment, i saw another thing. Every backup generated and stored in home dir has the owner/group 0/0, even if i use the account user and pass to login in the cPanel.
    Shouldn't it be the owner/group as the user/user?
    So, like this the quota of the user isn't affected.


    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  4. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi! Again...
    My hosting service that installed the VPS for me didn't have activated the quotas inicially. They did it afterwards. I don't know what they did, but it was a question of minutes to activate the quotas. Is it something wrong with the quotas?
    Should i do Initial Quota Setup?

    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  5. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi!
    I need help please...
    My clients are complaining about this behavior and can't do the backups.
    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There may be custom firewall rules blocking the FTP uploads. Feel free to open a support ticket so we can take a closer look:

    Submit A Ticket

    You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi!
    I don't think that what is happening but will submit a ticket if necessary.
    I will explain 4 tests that can help you diagnose...

    1. test
    In this test the user as quota of 500MB and has 180MB occupied. The reseller logs in the user account cPanel and creates a full backup and chooses to save it in the home dir. It works fine and the backup has 150MB and the user/group as 520/521 and it's saved in the home dir. The file in the home dir count to user quota.

    2. test
    In this test the user as quota of 500MB and has 180MB occupied. The reseller logs in the user account cPanel and creates a full backup and chooses to send it to remote ftp. It works fine and the backup has 150MB and the user/group as 520/521 and it's saved in the home dir, then automatically the cPanel logs to remote ftp and start the transfer. After it is completed the backup is removed. The file in the home dir while is there counts to user quota.

    3. test
    In this test the user as quota of 500MB and has 380MB occupied. The reseller logs in the user account cPanel and creates a full backup and chooses to save it in the home dir. It works fine and the backup has 300MB and the user/group as 0/0 as if it where root and it doesn't count to user quota. And the file stays in the home dir of the user.

    4. test (the problem)
    In this test the user as quota of 500MB and has 380MB occupied. The reseller logs in the user account cPanel and creates a full backup and chooses to send it to remote ftp. Now this is the problem as the backup is started to be created and the normal two files are created in the users home dir with user/group as 520/521, but right after the creation of the file the cPanel connects to the remote ftp server logging in as normal and sending the allo command that initiates the transfer, but it suddenly sends the quit command and the file in the home dir just disappears.
    So this should work like test number 2 and should put the file in the home dir of the user then send it to the remote ftp and then deleting it. But the problem here is that the quota of the user in this case number 4 is exceeded. But again in test number 3 the user quota ir exceeded too and that backup is made. So why is it no made in this case?

    I know this is a long explanation but it seemed to me the only way for you to understand what i have tested.

    I' can add that this works on a shared server that i have and where i am a reseller. Now that i have acquired a VPS to have my clients this behavior has changed not permitting me to do the backups as usual. Even if my clients want to make their own full backups to a remote ftp now they can't. And before they could.

    I can add hat the log in test for that i asked to send by email is not even sent. So there is really a problem here.

    Now, my question is what can i config to repair this and to have the behavior of my earlier server?

    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  8. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi! again... ;)

    I have made another test.

    In test 3 i can't download the file cause i don't have permissions to that. The file is 0/0 so i can't download it not trough cPanel nor by FTP.

    This can only be a permissions problem right?

    Is it possible that because there's no quota for the entire file the cPanel can't change the user to 520/521 so it can't use it for downloading or sending trough FTP?

    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  9. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi!

    Report from cPanel:
    Net::FTP>>> Net::FTP(2.77)
    Net::FTP>>> Exporter(5.66)
    Net::FTP>>> Net::Cmd(2.29)
    Net::FTP>>> IO::Socket::INET(1.31)
    Net::FTP>>> IO::Socket(1.31)
    Net::FTP>>> IO::Handle(1.28)
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 220-FileZilla Server version 0.9.41 beta
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 220-written by Tim Kosse (Tim.Kosse@gmx.de)
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 220 Please visit FileZilla | Free Communications software downloads at SourceForge.net
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)>>> USER backup
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 331 Password required for backup
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)>>> PASS ....
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 230 Logged on
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)>>> TYPE I
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 200 Type set to I
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)>>> CWD /
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 250 CWD successful. "/" is current directory.
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)>>> ALLO 263098064
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 202 No storage allocation neccessary.
    Cannot open Local file /home/jffeijo/backup-7.9.2013_17-41-00_jffeijo.tar.gz: Permission denied
    at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/ftpput line 21
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)>>> QUIT
    Net::FTP=GLOB(0x1acf030)<<< 221 Goodbye

    How can i solve this, because this was working in a shared server and now in my VPS it's not working.

    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,449
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try testing your remote FTP server, remotely, to make sure it works as expected:
    /http://www.g6ftpserver.com/en/ftptest
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for taking the time to explain the issue in detail. I do suggest opening a support ticket so we can take a closer look to determine if an internal case is necessary.
     
  12. nunoleite

    nunoleite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi!

    I have already posted a ticket. Request id is: 4289915

    My remote FTP server is working fine, as it worked and is still working for other accounts on shared servers and others.

    Thanks
    Nuno Leite
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Per ticket 4289915, it looks like you had your provider open a separate ticket for this issue. Are you able to provide us with that ticket number so we can update this thread with the outcome?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page