The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem to create a backup destination : login always replaced by "root"

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by trucmuche, May 26, 2015.

  1. trucmuche

    trucmuche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm using WHM 11.48.4.4 on CentOS 6.6 and I have a very strange problem.

    I try to create a FTP backup destination. I enter valid informations in each field (Backup directory, remote host, port, remote account username, remote password...) and I click on "Save and Validate destination". WHM tells me that :
    Erreur : La validation du transfert de « myFTPdestinationServer » a échoué : Impossible de charger le fichier de test : Could not open data connection to port 47330: No route to host​
    When I come back in the destination configuration to check settings, I see that the remote account username has been overrided by "root" (which is not what I entered)...

    What's wrong with that ??

    I'm really surprised because I was using that functionality on my old VPS and the same settings were ok.

    Thanks in advance !

    Trucmuche

    ps. I said that the settings are correct because I use them and I tested them one minute ago...
     
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This error states that it can't reach the destination server. Are you able to ping the remote host from your server?
     
  3. trucmuche

    trucmuche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Thank you for your answer.

    Yes, I'm able to ping to the remote host from my computer AND from the server (I tested it with ssh connexion to the server), and I'm able to open a FTP connexion using the login&password I type in the WHM to create destination (from my computer AND from the server's command line)...
     
  4. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Could you try running the following command as root:

    Code:
    service iptables stop
    
    and then try validating your backup destination again.

    Also, if you have CSF installed, make sure that you have added the required ports into the plugin else that will block it.

    EDIT: Just realised you're access level is set to reseller. You may need to contact your host regarding this.
     
  5. trucmuche

    trucmuche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem solved... I checked the passive mode for FTP and it's validating.
    I could have stop the iptables services by ssh but I'm using it for security sake... So I'm happy to have another solution than stopping iptables :)

    ps. Maybe my access level is not right ? I have full access to the vps (root, ssh, kvm, whm).
     
    LostNerd likes this.
  6. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yeah, head over to your profile and update it to Root Administrator! :)

    Glad you got it sorted. Stopping IPTables was only temporary. It was to test if it was due to an active block in IPTables. :)

    Once again, glad you've got it sorted!
     
  7. trucmuche

    trucmuche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks !! modification done :)

    by the way... I've got another little question here ;-)
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page