The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem transferring account with many parked domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by veronicabend, Oct 25, 2012.

  1. veronicabend

    veronicabend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I am moving an account from one cpanel server to another. Both servers have WHM 11.32.5 (build 12).

    The account has many domains parked.

    Copying the account went well until it reached the point of "Restoring DNS Zones". Then it keeps repeating the following endlessly:

    Code:
    Find version of xferpoint on remote server... Done
    Pointing Dns Records, Mail, Website to new server on remote server...
    [xferpoint] server:xxxxxx user:yyyy
    Locking password for user yyyy.
    passwd: Success
    Setting mail handling for first.com to : secondary
    Setting mail handling for second.com to : secondary
    Setting mail handling for third.com to : secondary
    ....
    ....
    [xferpoint] complete
    Done
    Pointing Dns Records, Mail, Website to new server on remote server...
    
    and the same again and again.

    It has done this over 15 times already and keeps going. Is this normal?

    Or should I stop the process? Will the account be usable if I stop it? I'm not sure what was yet to be done after this step, that would not get to be done if I stop.

    Thanks!
     
    #1 veronicabend, Oct 25, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2012
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The logs indicate it's at the stage where it points the DNS on the source server to the destination server. When you see it repeating, is it always the same domain names? Or, is it proceeding with new domain names each time?

    Thank you.
     
  3. veronicabend

    veronicabend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for your reply Michael.

    It was always the same domains. I finally stopped the process after it had been over an hour doing the same thing for the same domain names.

    I still don't see the sites due to DNS caching, I only get the "account moved" page on the old server.

    Could something be unstable or cause any problems, if I had to stop the process at that point?

    Thanks.

     
  4. bear

    bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Seeing the same thing today while transferring a site with a lot of parked domains. Same set of domains, over and over.
    On the losing server via shell I can see a proc "dnsadmin - SYNCZONES - <string here> - (LOCAL)". Pops up a few times, see a different one now and again stating the main domain's nameservers are being changed...then it simply does all that again.

    Some thoughts on this would be helpful.
     
  5. bear

    bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just as a note, I went through the list of parked names to see which ones hadn't yet changed on the losing server. Went back through a second time to check, and see a handful of those have now changed. What I think is happening is it's changing just a few with each pass, but it is progressing.

    [EDIT]
    Confirmed. Looks like it's doing at most 2 parked names in each pass. Then as normal, updates those zones with the new IP, then hangs a while restoring SPF and other mail bits. Just now completed, about 2.5 hours worth.
     
    #5 bear, Oct 27, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  6. ovais

    ovais Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We are noticing same behavior since past few months on different servers, today moved an account with 40+ addon/parked domains which took more than 2 hours to just finish Dns sync/restore.
     
  7. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    just experiencing the same.

    Account has over hundred domain names, that will take a while...

    Have we got anybody from cpanel who could look into this?

    Thanks
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This thread is a year old. Do you have a ticket open for the issue you're facing?

    Have you considered backing up this special account and transferring/restoring it manually?
     
  9. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for answering,

    I figured it's better to continue it than start a new one.

    No, i have not opened a ticket. I boosted server resources and it completed somewhat quick (more than half an hour).

    I could send some log file, if any would help .
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    So the Account transferred successfully, or no?
     
  11. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes. "I boosted server resources and it completed"
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Good to hear that it went ok for you then.
     
Loading...

Share This Page