The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem when Editing a DNS Zone

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Marty, May 8, 2002.

  1. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    When I edit a dns zone, it seems that the system creates an extra zone file.

    Lets say I have a zone for mydomain.com and I edit it.

    If, after editing, I go back to the Edit DNS Zone option, I find these entries in the DNS zone list:

    mydomain.com
    mydomain.com.db.test

    Why is the second one there, and what can I do to prevent it from being there? It does not appear to be affecting operation of the server or bind, but it is aggrevating to have to delete them every time I edit a zone.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    mmm, I guess I am alone on this one. :(
     
  3. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    I just don't delete them, they seem to be harmless.
     
  4. Curt

    Curt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The stange thing is Marty and I have compared our configs and we are on identical versions of cpanel/whm and my box does not do this. The only real difference is I am on 6.2 (p3) and he has a P4 and is on the 7.2 version of redhat.

    Nick,
    Any ideas?
     
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:060abcade4][i:060abcade4]Originally posted by Curt[/i:060abcade4]

    The stange thing is Marty and I have compared our configs and we are on identical versions of cpanel/whm and my box does not do this. The only real difference is I am on 6.2 (p3) and he has a P4 and is on the 7.2 version of redhat.

    Nick,
    Any ideas?[/quote:060abcade4]

    Is this still happening with build 120+ ?
     
  6. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you! Thank you!! Thank you!!!!

    If you don't understand that answer it means - No, it is not still happening!

    Did I say &Thank you&? :)
     
  7. Curt

    Curt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Very Cool!

    Thanks Nick!
     
Loading...

Share This Page