The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem while installing cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by taoyunwen, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. taoyunwen

    taoyunwen Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello everyone,
    I am installing CPanel on my centos 5.5, and while executing 'latest', the script stopped and appeared the following:
    Code:
    [20131229.222814]   --force passed on command line. Upgrade will disgregard update config settings.
    die [updatenow] Unable to retrieve tier version info: Inappropriate ioctl for device
    exit level [die] (Unable to retrieve tier version info: Inappropriate ioctl for device)
    2013-12-29 22:28:37  918 (DEBUG):   Detected a failed sync. Re-trying updatenow.static to correct
    2013-12-29 22:28:37  924 (FATAL): Unable to sync cpanel. Please verify your network connectivity to httpupdate.cpanel.net and re-run the installer
    Removing /root/installer.lock
    
    Has anyone encountered this?
     
  2. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    It looks like your network connection was lost or you have a very strict firewall that is preventing the install program from retrieving the update information. You should check your network settings.
     
  3. mohisanisel

    mohisanisel Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've exactly same problem.

    I got this error:

    Code:
    Unable to sync cpanel. Please verify your network connectivity to httpupdate.cpanel.net and re-run the installer
    
    but when I ping "httpupdate.cpanel.net" these results returns:

    Code:
    PING httpupdate.cpanel.net (67.205.110.4) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from cpanel.mtl.iweb.com (67.205.110.4): icmp_seq=1 ttl=47 time=78.6 ms
    64 bytes from cpanel.mtl.iweb.com (67.205.110.4): icmp_seq=2 ttl=47 time=78.6 ms
    64 bytes from cpanel.mtl.iweb.com (67.205.110.4): icmp_seq=3 ttl=47 time=78.6 ms
    64 bytes from cpanel.mtl.iweb.com (67.205.110.4): icmp_seq=4 ttl=47 time=78.6 ms
    
    So it means I have access to the internet and also cpanel's resource.

    and server in totally fresh and clean. no firewalls are set :-S

    Any suggestions are appreciated.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Check to make sure you are using working resolvers in your /etc/resolv.conf file. If the issue persists, feel free to open a support ticket and post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Gulshan Beejan

    Gulshan Beejan Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    I have a similar issue, as below:

    Code:
    ......failed: Unable to connect: No route to host at ./updatenow.static line 27773.
    ^C2015-01-19 16:05:25  618 (DEBUG):   Detected a failed sync. Re-trying updatenow.static to correct
    2015-01-19 16:05:25  602 ( INFO): Closing install log and passing output control to updatenow.static
    ^C2015-01-19 16:05:25  618 (DEBUG):   Detected a failed sync. Re-trying updatenow.static to correct
    2015-01-19 16:05:25  602 ( INFO): Closing install log and passing output control to updatenow.static
    ^C2015-01-19 16:05:25  618 (DEBUG):   Detected a failed sync. Re-trying updatenow.static to correct
    2015-01-19 16:05:25  602 ( INFO): Closing 
    
    We are trying to setup cPanel which is behind a very strict firewall. Can you please let us know which ports needs to be open?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the other solutions in this thread are not helpful, please see the following post:

    Thank you.
     
  7. Gulshan Beejan

    Gulshan Beejan Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply. /etc/resolv.conf is correct and did not solve the issue. Support ticket is 5992727.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, it was suggested the issue was related to a custom network configuration. The customer did not follow-up to verify if that was indeed the case.

    Thank you.
     
  9. Sutherland Nele

    Sutherland Nele Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tabubil, Western Province, Papua New Guinea
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    How was this resolved as I am having the same issue trying to install CPanel on CentOS 6.6? My resolver is working fine. I am not able to ping the http://httpupdate.cpanel.net website because my network admin disabled icmp on our network, however, I confirm that i can access and download manually from the website http://httpupdate.cpanel.net. Also note that I am connecting via a proxy. wget and yum updates/installs work fine and I am not sure why this is not working for me.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's possible this was related to a temporary issue with a mirror. Can you verify if you were able to proceed with the installation since making the post?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page