The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with a hosting account and domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Daniel15, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dissapearing domains on a reseller account

    Hi everone,
    I've been having a problem with a user's domains dissapearing from their reseller account. Here's what they said to me (with some information removed):
    Their accounts don't appear even under the root 'List Accounts'. However, the entries are still in named.conf:
    Code:
    zone "[domain].org" {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/[domain].org.db";
    };
    
    
    zone "[domain].info" {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/[domain].info.db";
    };
    
    And both zone files are valid:
    Code:
    ; cPanel 10.9.0-CURRENT_94
    ; Zone file for [domain].org
    $TTL 14400
    @      86400    IN      SOA     ns1.cwhnetworks.com. knskater125.gmail.com. (
                    2006121101      ; serial, todays date+todays
                    86400           ; refresh, seconds
                    7200            ; retry, seconds
                    3600000         ; expire, seconds
                    86400 )         ; minimum, seconds
    
    [domain].org. 86400 IN NS ns1.cwhnetworks.com.
    [domain].org. 86400 IN NS ns2.cwhnetworks.com.
    
    ns1.[domain].org. IN A 75.126.41.160
    ns2.[domain].org. IN A 75.126.41.160
    
    [domain].org. IN A 75.126.41.160
    
    localhost.[domain].org. IN A 127.0.0.1
    
    [domain].org. IN MX 0 [domain].org.
    
    mail IN CNAME [domain].org.
    www IN CNAME [domain].org.
    ftp IN CNAME [domain].org.
    

    Additionally, the virtual host is still listed in httpd.conf:
    Code:
    <VirtualHost 75.126.41.160>
    ServerAlias [domain].org
    ServerAdmin webmaster@[domain].org
    DocumentRoot /home/[username]/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/[domain].org-bytes_log
    User [username]
    Group [username]
    <IfModule mod_userdir.c>
    UserDir disabled
    UserDir enabled [username]
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule mod_php4.c>
    php_admin_value open_basedir "/home/[username]/:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule mod_php5.c>
    php_admin_value open_basedir "/home/[username]/:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>
    ServerName www.[domain].org
    
    
    
    User [username]
    Group [username]
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/[domain].org combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/[username]/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>
    
    Even so, WHM doesn't list the account under 'List Accounts'. What's the best way to fix this?

    Thanks.
     
    #1 Daniel15, Dec 12, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2006
  2. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    -bump-
    Any ideas?
     
  3. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are they listed in root's WHM List Accounts? If so, try changing the ownership (click on pencil next to reseller name in List Accounts) back to the reseller and see if that resets things enough to get the reseller to see the account.
     
  4. Daniel15

    Daniel15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The account isn't even listed in the root WHM...
    Thanks, though. Any other ideas?
     
  5. adept2003

    adept2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ~ "/(extra|special)/data"
    Could try this:
    1. Download a full site backup of the affected account.
    2. Delete the account (& don't tick "keep dns records").
    3. Ensure that no entries exist for it in the files you've already listed above.
    4. Delete any db file or directory that refers to the site in "/var/named/"
    5. Do a full restore of the affected site from WHM.
    6. Repair mailbox permissions (& maybe sync dns records with rest of cluster).
     
  6. mitul

    mitul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does that domain name exists in /etc/userdomains and /etc/localdomains file ??

    You should also try running /scripts/updateuserdomains and check for any errors.
     
  7. bizzy

    bizzy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you - that rescued me from a similar ordeal. It pointed to a DNS link error in /var/cpanel/users/<username> or thereabouts. Re-instated and a dummy domain created in /var/named and an entry in /etc/named.conf. Re started BIND and ran /scripts/updateuserdomains again and up popped the account in the listing. Everything now appears OK.

    Except the original reason for getting in the mess was that I did not want to run a DNS zone on this account. I have had no problem in deleting zones for parked domains - cannot it be done for base domain?

    Again thanks.
     
    #7 bizzy, Dec 15, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2006
  8. chrisjs162216

    chrisjs162216 Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    While I had almost the same problem, I did find a fix that seemed to work. By running /scripts/killdns and then going to Add a DNS Zone in WHM, it seems to recreate it properly. That is, provided that the account is listed there...
     
  9. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Perhaps not! But there are a number of other solutions. For instance, you could delete the zone manually. Or you could comment out the record definitions in the file and just leave the SOA.

    So we can help more accurately could you remind me why you didn't want a DNS zone for the domain?
     
  10. vinc_dc43

    vinc_dc43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I found recently on a few domains i made manually and assigned to a reseller so that they coudl edit the DNS, after tranfering the accounts from their other server, that the process of adding a zone and assigning it to the resller then lead to a problem where the accounts would dissapear everytime updateuserdomains was run.

    The fix was to remove the domains from the cpanel users account file for the reseller a thus removing the conflict.

    Running the updateuserdomains then fixed the rest of set up files perfectly.
     
  11. hromero

    hromero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Other Solutions!!

    Thanks guys!!

    I had the same problem but I add a entry in /var/cpanel/users/<user> like this in the last line:

    DNS = dominio.com

    and resolved!!!
    Regards.. (Pardon if i had mistakes in English)

    Gracias Señores,

    Tuve el mismo probema pero lo resolvi colocando la siguiente linea en /var/cpanel/users/<usuario>:

    DNS=dominio.com

    Saludos.
     
Loading...

Share This Page