The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with AcceptPathInfo

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by MattAtNatwell, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. MattAtNatwell

    MattAtNatwell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I've posted about this in another board, but no one seems to know in the other one, so I am opting repost here, since it seems that this may be an optimization issue.

    My issue is that AcceptPathInfo appears to be on, I cannot turn it off via adding aline to .htaccess, if I try to turn it off in the vhost portion of httpd.conf, the site will not host with the following error message:

    Code:
    The requested URL /cgi-sys/php5/index.php was not found on this server.
    To give an example on one of our lesser used websites:

    Say a spider goes to

    Code:
    http://www.domain.com/index.php
    all is well and good.



    But then, the spider goes to

    Code:
    http://www.domain.com/index.php/this/should/give/a/404/error
    Not only does it display duplicate content, but it also has a ton of broken resources, which makes Google upset with us.

    I have full access to WHM and root to the server, but I am at a loss for what to do.
     
    #1 MattAtNatwell, Jul 13, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2012
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is thread number 3 on the same topic. There's no need for that, nor you posting your domain name in them all.

    This is thread 2:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f34/acceptpathinfo-search-engine-spiders-284312.html

    This is thread 1:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f34/url-issues-284222.html

    In that first thread I asked you where this garbage in the URL was coming from. You have yet to show me this even after speaking via private messaging on this topic.


    Spiders do not go to random URLs, or make up URLs and I found not instances on multiple search engines of the domain in question showing up with garbage in the URLs.

    Please do not re-add the domain names here. There is no need for that, example URLs should work here just as well.
     
  3. MattAtNatwell

    MattAtNatwell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm not sure why a google search turning up the bad URLS is so critical, but I am talking to my webmaster to get some. In either case, I keep reposting this because I am desperate to have it fixed. Thus far, I have found no one with any valuable input on the matter, since the only help you provided via the PM session was to point out that you can't get google to return bad URLS.

    I am not asking for help with google. I am asking for help with getting WHM/cPannel to provide 404 errors when it should. Forget google, I just want to get my 404 errors.


    Given your request though, it is impossible for me to give you a google search without providing the URL of at least one of my sites. I will do that now.

    A Google search for "milk thistle" has on the second page of results a URL with a trailing slash - /http://liversupport.com/milkthistle.htm/


    Everyone I work with and for have made it clear that this is unacceptable.
     
  4. Webinx

    Webinx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Have you checked you Htaccess and your robots.txt? There should be some errors there.
     
Loading...

Share This Page