The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem with apache and killall in scripts

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Incognito969, Sep 17, 2003.

  1. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've had this problem for a while now, I submitted a bug report but they say they can't duplicate the problem and I don't really want to give them root access.

    What happens is that whenever Apache told to restart after a change to httpd.conf it doesn't. I took a look at the scripts that do try to restart Apache and they all use

    killall -USR1 httpd

    which on my server doesn't work. Anyone else have this problem? I really need to convince the devlopers that this problem really exists.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    What is displayed in your apache error log when you attempt to restart the daemon? Does apachectl restart not work?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Apache restarts fine, there is nothing in the error logs the problem is that when killall is given Apache should come right back up but it doesn't for now chkservd brings it back up but there is still intermittent apache downtime.

    Can anyone tell me what I can do? I can't find a solution to this.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    bump, sorry I am in real need for a solution.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you manually type the command then do ps -ef |grep httpd does the times get updated for the child processes? Remember this is not a stop and start, it is a reload config.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If i manually type in killall then httpd stops. It's gone I know this is supposed to do a graceful but it doesn't. Anyways there are better ways of doing a graceful reload than killall.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Incognito969

    Incognito969 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    BUMP


    Cpanel DEVELOPERS!!!!

    Could you guys please change

    killall -USR1 httpd

    to the proper way???

    kill -USR1 'cat /usr/local/apache/logs/httpd.pid'


    PLEASE
    PLEASE
    PLEASE

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page