Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Problem with Backup Restoration from AWS

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by LordLiverpool, May 15, 2019.

Tags:
  1. LordLiverpool

    LordLiverpool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem:

    My VPS gets backed up to an AWS S3 bucket.
    I need to restore a particular website from the last good backup (today's backup by chance).
    However, WHM > Backup Restoration says:
    "The system cannot restore backups because it does not store those backups locally."

    Research:

    After a good few Google searches I uncovered these links:

    In Progress - [CPANEL-24264] Backup Restoration requires local backup rentention

    Remote Restoration - Version 78 Documentation - cPanel Documentation


    Actions Taken:
    1. Downloaded the appropriate tar.gz from AWS S3.
    2. Checked the BACKUPDIR variable within the /var/cpanel/backups/config file
    3. Config file says my backup directory is BACKUPDIR: /backup
    4. Created a new folder under /backup i.e. /backup/2019-05-15
    5. Uploaded today's backup i.e. the 2019-05-15.tar.gz to my server to the new folder.
    6. Refreshed the WHM > Backup Restoration page and nothing changes.
    7. Altered my Backup Configuration to "Retain Backups in the Default Backup Directory".
    8. Refresh the WHM > Backup Restoration page
    9. The yellow warning sign has gone.
    10. And now I can restore really old backups from a few years ago, must be from before I swapped over to AWS S3. But I can't see the backup that I just uploaded today.
    11. Today's date seems to have changed to bold, but I can't select it (See Thumbnail)
    Backup_Restoration.JPG

    Question:

    How do I restore my backup?
    Is there a workaround?
    Or am I up a certain creek without a paddle?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 LordLiverpool, May 15, 2019
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just stick the gz file in /home and use the restore full backup/remove file in whm. Then choose the user name and restore it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    LordLiverpool likes this.
  3. LordLiverpool

    LordLiverpool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @GOT

    Thanks for replying.
    1. I moved the tar.gz to /home
    2. Went into Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file
    I don't know which options to choose for the best. (See Thumbnail)

    Restore.JPG

    Thanks very much for your help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Is the account terminated? If the account exists then you need to check that box about overwriting the existing user. If the account is terminated than as it sits is fine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    LordLiverpool likes this.
  5. LordLiverpool

    LordLiverpool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @ GOT

    No, it's not terminated. The Web Developer made a hash of things.

    OK, your instructions worked perfectly. Hooray!

    Thank you very much for your help, it's really appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  6. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Happy to help, glad it worked out!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,331
    Likes Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @LordLiverpool,

    I'm glad to see the suggested method worked. Here's a copy of my recent response to the thread you linked in your first post:

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    LordLiverpool likes this.
  8. LordLiverpool

    LordLiverpool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @cPanelMichael

    Thanks very much for your help, it's appreciated.

    I'll upgrade to Version 80 asap, it's great to know this feature has been developed.

    Kind Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice