The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with changing hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by habiballahafg, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. habiballahafg

    habiballahafg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi
    I hope you are having a great day or night right now!
    I have made change in my hostname (it was server1.domain.co) and I changed it to my server IP address and I cannot access to any options in cpanel and therefor I cannot change hostname to old hostname.
    What should I do?
     
  2. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have access via SSH ?
     
    #2 keat63, Nov 25, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2014
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can access your server via SSH and update the hostname via a command such as:

    Code:
    hostname server.domain.com
    Remember to update it via WHM when you regain access. Note that you should also be able to access WHM directly with a URL such as:

    Code:
    https://$IP:2087
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page