Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Problem with changing hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by habiballahafg, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. habiballahafg

    habiballahafg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi
    I hope you are having a great day or night right now!
    I have made change in my hostname (it was server1.domain.co) and I changed it to my server IP address and I cannot access to any options in cpanel and therefor I cannot change hostname to old hostname.
    What should I do?
     
  2. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have access via SSH ?
     
    #2 keat63, Nov 25, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2014
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,809
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    You can access your server via SSH and update the hostname via a command such as:

    Code:
    hostname server.domain.com
    Remember to update it via WHM when you regain access. Note that you should also be able to access WHM directly with a URL such as:

    Code:
    https://$IP:2087
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice