The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with cron

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by subone, Jun 7, 2005.

  1. subone

    subone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a probem with creating cron job. While creating cron job in cpanel it is written that everything was done correctly but in fact files with cron job aren't created.
     
  2. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    user's cron jobs reside in tmp folder...check the permissions on tmp. you can add a cron job from shell also.......by using following command......

    crontab -u username -e

    alternatively u can also specify a separate file to add user's cron by

    #crontab -u username filename
     
  3. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Please check the following command
    --------------------------------------
    crontab -e -u <cpanel user name>
    --------------------------------------
    May be It will help you.

    Let me know the status.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    They live in /var/spool/cron/username ;)
     
  5. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    agreed......mymistake :D
     
  6. subone

    subone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    All cron jobs are being created properly from shell. Those which are to be created from cpanel aren't being created properly.
     
  7. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Try the script

    --------------
    /scripts/upcp
    --------------

    Let me know the status.
     
  8. __arjun__

    __arjun__ Guest

    I've a similar issue too.
    Whenever a user tries to access Cronjob Manager from Cpanel,
    the load will just shoot up ( to 50+) and it just hangs ....
    pstree shows too many crontab processes spawned by Cpanel.
    Think Cpanel unable to update or stat the user crontab.

    I've checked /var/spool/cron for any permissions problems,
    tried upcp, reinstalling vixie-cron etc but still the issue remains :(

    Another thing to notice is that I can update crontab from
    the shell ( using crontab -e -u username ).
    This only fails when CPanel trytng to access/update Crontab.

    My current Cpanel version is 10.2.0-RELEASE_82

    I've tried other versions too ... :-(

    Anyone Got any IDEA/Suggestion ?
     
  9. shoopie

    shoopie Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    did anyone resolve this problem? i know im a bit late but im having simillar problems creating cron from cpanel manager... i can create cron via ssh but not via cpanel.

    I hope someone has a fix... :confused:
     
  10. __arjun__

    __arjun__ Guest

    If you are running Centos check if you are running auditd,
    either stop it or remove the package ( laus - the Linux Auditing System).
    I didn't check/debug the exact reason but It worked for me.

    Let me know if thatz working for you too...
     
  11. shoopie

    shoopie Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok i messed around and finally fixed the problem, if any of you get this problem, type this command...

    chmod a+s /usr/bin/crontab

    ok thats all... simple user permission duhhhh at me
     
Loading...

Share This Page