The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with DNS setup on cpanel

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by osyrys14, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. osyrys14

    osyrys14 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Keep getting these emails,

    The hostname (cpanel-internal.domain.au) resolves to
    103.9.x.xx. It should resolve to 10.1.x.xx. Please be sure that
    the contents of /etc/hosts are configured correctly, and also that
    there is a correct 'A' entry for the domain in the zone file.

    However, if I change it to resolve to the internal IP address, nothing will resolve to the internet properly. Can we just ignore these messages, or is there something that can be done about this?
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Change the IP in WHM-> Server Configuration-> Basic cPanel & WHM Setup-> Basic Config to 103.9.xx.xx
     
  3. osyrys14

    osyrys14 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Will that effect functionality of cPanel, since that's NOT the IP address of the server, that's it's public IP of the firewall...
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you go to
    WHM-> IP Functions -> Show or Delete Current IP Addresses
    what do you see?

    As far as I understand cPanel server's main address can not be a "private IP address".
     
  5. osyrys14

    osyrys14 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Everything (5 sites testing) is working fine, the only thing that's happening is getting that email about ipcheck.
     
  6. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I can see you server hostname is not setup correctly on your server and due to that it's resolving to correct IP. You will have to setup the correct and fully qualified domain name for your hostname. You can change it through WHM >>Networking Setup >> Change Hostname and after that add correct "A" record for your server hostname through WHM >> DNS Functions >> Add an A Entry for Your Hostname
     
  7. osyrys14

    osyrys14 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The hostname IS cpanel-internal.domain.au and the public IP address is 103.9.xx.xx
     
  8. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you added "A" record for your hostname with 103.9.xx.xx IP through WHM >> DNS Functions >> Add an A Entry for Your Hostname ?
     
  9. osyrys14

    osyrys14 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I just added the public IP address, still doesn't show up, and I guess I just have to wait till morning to see if ipcheck likes it or doesn't.
     
  10. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also I will suggest you, If your main domain is hosted on other server then you will have to add "A" entry for your " cpanel-internal " to your server IP 103.9.xx.xx so that you should not get any other issues with your server hostname
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,814
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Actually, you can safely ignore this warning message. It's normal for this message to show up when you are using a private IP address. There is an internal case open (#56083) to address this issue in a future build of cPanel, however in the meantime you may want to setup a filter in your email client to prevent this message from appearing in your inbox. Please ensure your hostname does resolve to a public IP address.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page