The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with EasyApache 3

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by kamraonline, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. kamraonline

    kamraonline Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have problem with EasyApache 3. I tried to compile Apache 2.2 + PHP 5.2.3 on my Server.

    All working well but when it want to update Apache config I received this error :

    Code:
    Updating Apache configuration
    Updating Apache configuration
    !! Failed to generate a syntactically correct Apache configuration (/usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf.1181651068):
    [Tue Jun 12 15:54:12 2007] [error] (EAI 2)Name or service not known: Could not resolve host name xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: -- ignoring!
    Syntax error on line 255 of /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf.1181651068:
    ServerAdmin takes one argument, The email address of the server administrator
    !!
    !! Restoring original working apache !!
    Compiling report...
    Sending report (941 bytes)...
    Report processed.
    !! Verbose logfile is at '/usr/local/cpanel/logs/easy/apache/build.1181647063' !!
    When I check line 255 in /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf.1181651068 I see :
    Code:
    ServerAdmin 
    ServerAdmin is blank

    Can you please help me to compile Apache 2.2 + PHP 5.2.3

    Thank you
     
  2. kamraonline

    kamraonline Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can you please help me to fix this problem ?
     
  3. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    EA3 has many bugs that isn't resolved yet. It isn't recommend to run edge on a production server.
     
  4. kamraonline

    kamraonline Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When you think that it will released and most bugs fix ?
     
  5. WireNine

    WireNine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In a few weeks. :)
     
  6. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    To be accurate, "ea3" is pretty much solid and bug free save some opt mod testing on obscure systems.

    Remaining problems now seem to be the "httpd.conf generation", which is completely seperate from ea3 except that ea3 calls the conf system to create a conf for it at the end.

    That differenciation probably won't matter for most of us since the end result is "I don't have apache2" but refering it to it as the proper entity (IE "httpd.conf generation" instead of "ea3") will help us sort out any issues and address them speedily :)

    Just FYI :)
     
  7. Halcy0n

    Halcy0n Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Apache 1 didn't work for me either. I didn't realize easyapache was something new in the edge build (I upgraded to fix a bug) and spent a day trying to compile/configure apache without success :(

    Luckily the bug got fixed in today's current build and it still has the old apache compiler.
     
  8. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes EDGE has the new easyapache and the new httpd.conf generator. the httpd.conf generation is where the problem you had lies, the "apache builder" is unrelated :)
     
  9. kavkav123

    kavkav123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Disabling "apache builder"

    So because the easyapache is working pretty it is not possible to ignore it, now how can we disable the "httpd.conf generator"?
    or at least what is the way in case of error in "httpd.conf generator" do not cancel all of process?
     
    #9 kavkav123, Jun 17, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2007
  10. kamraonline

    kamraonline Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when do you think that problem will fix ?
    and httpd.conf generator will work fine ?

    Please fix this problem in new Edge.
    because its serious problem in cPanel and EA3 & Apache !

    Thank you
     
  11. Lastqaurk

    Lastqaurk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Check the release for CURRENT build in the front page - June 26.

    Edge is an edge and is not meant as a reliable build in any form.
     
  12. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you for clarifying that point. As far as i can tell the latest edge has a great improvment of httpd.conf handling.
     
  13. kamraonline

    kamraonline Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can you please work on this problem ?

    Because cPanel 11 released dates changed !

    I hope you will fix this problem as soon as possible

    Thank you
     
  14. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    Cpanel is working on it. It isn't something small to fix this immediatly. It has time to test it and resolv the bugs/issues. Cpanel has made many improvements last week.
     
  15. kavkav123

    kavkav123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now is 10th of july!

    what about bug fixing??!
     
  16. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ea3 is only in EDGE so not sure why current is mentioned in connection with this thread but anyway:

    ea3 updates are 100% independant of an EDGE build ( which is happeing fairly frequently anyway with the conf generation testing ) just run /scripts/easyapache and you have the latest published ea3 goods.

    Is there a specific problem you are still having in the latest EDGE or ea3?
     
  17. kavkav123

    kavkav123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have problem in WHM in "apache update" it shows : Easy::Apache v3.0.1 Rev1626
    and also with "/scripts/easyapache" it shows "v3.0.1 Rev1626 "
     
  18. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ok , then you are on EDGE branch, not CURRENT :)

    What problem are you having specifically?
     
  19. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i just noticed htis issue popped up on one of oue edge installs tonight, is there a fix for this in edge yet or soon?
     
  20. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can you describe the issue?

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page