The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with my hosting company's cpanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Joshua, Nov 2, 2002.

  1. Joshua

    Joshua Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi. I recently switched hosting companies and although the new company has had great and responsive tech support, I have one lingering problem. When connecting for email via pop, I get errors every couple of hours on a regular basis. Additionally, when going to one of my pages, I often get a can find server error, as if the DNS weren't working. The weird part is as soon as I reload or try to get my mail again, it works perfectly. It's almost as if the first hit on the system needs to wake it up and then it works fine until I don't try for a little while.

    Here's an example of one of the errors:

    I have gotten the error a couple of times now.

    Here is the TCP transcript from the POP server:

    +OK POP3 [DarkORB cppop 2.0] at [66.220.25.147] (jacketsbuzz.com)
    USER cotton+joshua.com
    +OK Need a password
    PASS *********
    -ERR Sorry cannot find an owner for that domain (joshua.com)

    And then a minute later, it worked again:

    +OK POP3 [DarkORB cppop 2.0] at [66.220.25.147] (jacketsbuzz.com)
    USER cotton+joshua.com
    +OK Need a password
    PASS *********
    +OK You have 0 messages totaling 0 octets from
    /web/topdog/mail/joshua.com/cotton/inbox


    After doing some research, someone else said they had a similar problem:
    [summary text from email]

    & Actually, it's not EXIM, it's CPpop - the POP3 server we are using. It's
    & a third party package that we pay for and the vendor has reported they
    & fixed the problem; we have no additional details.
    &
    & JSH Support

    So supposedly there some fix but my hosting company seems reluctant to update their cpanel without more data. So I am posting this message asking/begging for help here.

    Anyone know about this problem so I can specifically send a note back to my hosting company and say &here's the documented problem. it's been fixed in this release. now go fix it.&

    Thanks a ton in advance.

    -- Joshua
     
  2. Joshua

    Joshua Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [vendor's note]

    fyi... here's the note the hosting company sent me:


    I did what cpanel support told me to:

    /scripts/updatedomainip 's script and it in fact just made things WORSE.

    ETA for a full update of cpanel? Not in the immediate future.

    Sent more more specific details, error msgs, etc. and we can bring that to cpanel staff...

    Or, I'd *love* if you registered on the cpanel.net forums and posted there, or helped me find a similar post.

    --------

    thanks.
     
  3. Joshua

    Joshua Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    has no one else experienced this?
     
  4. cass

    cass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina/USA/Mexico
    hrm... what cpanel are they running ?
    I can't live without updating to last EDGE features :P

    btw.... maybe it's a DNS problem...

    but I really dunno, I've never experienced this problem.
     
  5. Joshua

    Joshua Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    you know, it looks and smells like a DNS issue but the hosting company has sworn that DNS has been checked and re-checked and only I am having the problem.

    I sent an email to them to try to find the cpanel version.

    any ideas on ways to confirm it from my computer?
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    In your cpanel on the main page look for something like;

    cPanel Version 5.3.0-RELEASE
    cPanel Build 6
    cPanel Theme cPanel X v1.0

    This is usually available on all themes.
     
  7. alwaysweb

    alwaysweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The server mentioned is running

    WHM 5.2.0
    Cpanel 5.2.0-S109
    RedHat 7.3

    DNS info:

    http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=joshua.com

    We have a (justified) fear of upgrading cpanel overall. :D
     
  8. Joshua

    Joshua Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any known issues with the versions mentioned above?

    That's my hosting company posting.

    Thanks!

    -- Joshua
     
  9. YukFoo

    YukFoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'd make a backup of your site, and ask your host to delete your account and recreate it.

    Then upload your site.

    1. do not use the spam assassin feature
    2. do not use the Outlook Express Auto Config feature
    3. do not check anything in OE that says 'authenticate'
    4. make sure your nameservers and mailservers are correct

    That's what I'd try. It sure can't hurt anything unless you have a 10,000 page website and receive 20 million hits aday :)
     
  10. Joshua

    Joshua Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. The issue is that it's on 5 different sites all hosted by these guys. I am not using any of the items you mentioned and the nameservers and mailservers are out of my control.
     
  11. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I get the same error occasionally, so it's not a mail client error (unless you happen to be using Kmail!).
    I know it resolves itself a few minutes later so it's not really a big issue, but it does get annoyin at times:)
     
  12. Joshua

    Joshua Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I get it a number of times per day so it does get annoying. Any idea what version of cpanel your hosting company is using?
     
  13. cass

    cass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina/USA/Mexico
    you may want to ask your hosting co. if they have :
    nameserver 127.0.0.1

    FIRST in their /etc/resolv.conf file. (also check that all nameservers entered here are working, cause if you have not working dns servers listed here you may have some occassional trouble ... you know)

    cause maybe they are using only external nameservers, and so what you get are some sort of timeout of the cppop while it tries to see if it's a valid domain....

    just my 0.02
     
  14. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Has your host tried running:
    /scripts/updateuserdomains
    and then
    /scripts/mailperm


    We had an account that was returning the
    'Sorry cannot find an owner for that domain'
    And it worked for us.
     
Loading...

Share This Page