The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with PHP pages

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Josephuk05, May 27, 2006.

  1. Josephuk05

    Josephuk05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Within in the last few days, I've noticed that when I try and access some .php pages, the broswer trys to download them and not load them. (which is making updaying my sites a pain in the butt)

    Is this a server-side or client-side problem?

    Thanks
    Joseph
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    All you need to do is re-compile Php.
     
  3. Josephuk05

    Josephuk05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I managed to fix it about 5 mins after posting the message :p
    (I did a recompile)

    thanks anyway :)
     
  4. Josephuk05

    Josephuk05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok... spoke to soon.

    It was fine for a while, but now i'm getting the problem even more now.

    also, sometimes in the download window it says "application/x-httpd-php"

    which version of PHP should I use?
     
  5. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    I think, the reason is more a browser problem, :eek:
    patch your browser for the newest update. :rolleyes:


    My knowledge are not especially for PHP sript configuration. ;)
     
  6. Josephuk05

    Josephuk05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I get the same thing on 2 pc's with FF and IE
     
  7. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    It'll definitely be a server-side issue. Apache is not dealing with .php files correctly.

    Since the resulting file download window lists the type of file as 'application/x-httpd-php', Apache clearly knows that .php means application/x-httpd-php, but as it's trying to send the file to you its clear that Apache doesn't know what to do with the file.

    If you've tried recompiling both Apache and PHP, the recompile is not working properly.

    There were recent problems with regards to recompiling Apache for PHP 5.x. In such cases the behaviour was similar to your description. Selecting PHP 4.4.2 seemed to sort things out.

    What version of PHP are you selecting? Do you have phpsuexec enabled?
     
  8. Josephuk05

    Josephuk05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm going to try and compile 4.4.2 (I tried with 5.1.4 and 4.4.1) and see if it clears up the problem... I have also ticked phpsuexec.
     
  9. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  10. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    You got that right. :D
     
  11. monsta

    monsta Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Figure this out?

    Has anyone figured this out yet?
     
  12. Josephuk05

    Josephuk05 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I changed the php version to 4.4.2 and also turned on phpsuexec then did a compile.
    Everything seems to be working again now :)

    Thanks for the help guys.
     
  13. Indyhouse

    Indyhouse Registered

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Some of my PHP pages are trying to be download, too, but not all.

    I recompiled w/ 4.4.2 and turned on phpsuexec but the problem remains.

    Any more things I can try?

    Example page:

    www.digitaltraveler.biz
     
  14. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    You have two option to see what's goin'on when re-compiling Php. Login to WHM >> Software >> Apache Update >> Click on Load Previous Config button, scroll down the page and select "Verbose Build (show configure and gcc output)"

    Or re-compile Php, manually, at the prompt.
     
  15. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
Loading...

Share This Page