The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with update_db_cache script?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dupe, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. dupe

    dupe Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Running
    [root@ns1 scripts]# ./update_db_cache
    Use of uninitialized value in exists at ./update_db_cache line 128.
    Use of uninitialized value in exists at ./update_db_cache line 128.
    Use of uninitialized value in exists at ./update_db_cache line 128.

    This happened after October 21st, and according to the file date stamp the file was changed at that point.

    I'm not sure how to rollback to previous one (i'm on WHM 11.28.15, running current on centos 5.5 32bit) or if anyone has a fix?

    For your reference line 126 - 128 is:

    foreach my $pwref (@$pwcache_ref) {
    my ( $user, $gid ) = (@$pwref)[ 0, 3 ];
    next if ( !exists $USERS{$user} );


    any thoughts or can anyone sending me a working update_db_cache from same version?
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have not seen widespread reports of a similar issue occurring. The snippet of code you provided looks the same as in the version of update_db_cache timestamped September 7 on a test server, which does not return an error. It would be best if you can submit a ticket so that we may investigate the issue directly.
     
  3. cPanelCory

    cPanelCory Developer - cPanel Security Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We have tracked down this problem as being an issue with how some things are handled in Cpanel::PwCache::getpwnam(). There is a bug report opened internally for it and a fix will be dispersed as soon as possible (no ETA at this time).

    Thank you for reporting this issue.
     
  4. tizoo

    tizoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi !

    We are also seeing this problem on one of our servers.

    Is there a temporary fix that we can apply ?

    Thanks in advance,
    Florian
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The internal bug report number is 44621 and it appears to be in QA testing right now. Since it's set to backmerge, it should make it into the product within the short-term once it's been through testing as Cory indicated.

    As for a workaround, it appears to possibly be due to non-existing users causing the error to occur, so I'm not certain how you would bypass it checking for non-existing users and failing on those (for example, such as postgres or pgsql ones).
     
Loading...

Share This Page