The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem with yum

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dethman, Oct 10, 2006.

  1. dethman

    dethman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    whem i use upcp i have this problem:
    ....
    Excluding Packages in global exclude list
    Finished
    rpmdb: mmap: Cannot allocate memory
    error: db4 error(12) from dbenv->open: Cannot allocate memory
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Cannot allocate memory (12)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpmdb: mmap: Cannot allocate memory
    error: db4 error(12) from dbenv->open: Cannot allocate memory
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/yum", line 7, in ?
    yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 68, in main
    result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 406, in doCommands
    return self.installPkgs()
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 814, in installPkgs
    self.doRpmDBSetup()
    File "__init__.py", line 92, in doRpmDBSetup
    File "__init__.py", line 73, in addDB
    TypeError: rpmdb open failed
    Unable to locate working spamc! Please check your installation.
    Unable to locate working spamd! Please check your installation.
    Unable to locate working spamassassin! Please check your installation.
    Attempting to install missing CPAN items: ftp
    Setting up Install Process
    Setting up Repos
    ....
    Excluding Packages in global exclude list
    Finished
    rpmdb: mmap: Cannot allocate memory
    error: db4 error(12) from dbenv->open: Cannot allocate memory
    error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - Cannot allocate memory (12)
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    rpmdb: mmap: Cannot allocate memory
    error: db4 error(12) from dbenv->open: Cannot allocate memory
    error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/yum", line 7, in ?
    yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 68, in main
    result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 406, in doCommands
    return self.installPkgs()
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 814, in installPkgs
    self.doRpmDBSetup()
    File "__init__.py", line 92, in doRpmDBSetup
    File "__init__.py", line 73, in addDB
    TypeError: rpmdb open failed
    commit: wrote '/usr/lib/perl5/5.8.7/CPAN/Config.pm'
    CPAN: File::HomeDir loaded ok
    CPAN: Storable loaded ok
    Going to read /home/.cpan/Metadata
    ...
    /usr/bin/perl: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.7/x86_64-linux/auto/Net/SSLeay/SSLeay.so: undefined symbol: SSL_load_error_strings
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
    /usr/bin/make -- NOT OK
    ....

    how to fix this problem?

    Thanks,
    Sebastian
     
  2. anushkumar

    anushkumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Are you on a VPS? if yes, you have to get your memory increased. Contact your Administrator to get this done. Ask them to restart your VPS after they allocate the memory.

    If you are on a dedicated server, Check whether you have enough free memory on your server if not try to increase it. :)
     
  3. dethman

    dethman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have a server dedicated with 1gb of ram memory. It is an installation of a new server. Still it does not have any account at the moment
     
  4. anushkumar

    anushkumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm.. did you try rebuild RMP?
    rpm --rebuilddb

    Does any other scripts under /scripts work? Also, whats the OS?

    do a cat /etc/redhat-release
     
  5. dethman

    dethman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i use cAos 2.0 x86_64. yes i test

    #rm -Rf /var/lib/rpms/__*
    #rpm --rebuilddb -v -v

    and the problem continued :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page