The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems accessing from behind a corporate firewall

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by martint235, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. martint235

    martint235 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    My first question on here as I've just started using cpanel on my new hosting service for my website and email. It all works fine from home and even from my android handset but I can't access webmail from work. I've tried bypassing proxy servers etc on the work network but to no avail. My hosting service suggested cpanelproxy.net but all i get is a list of advertisements?? Any ideas? I gather from searching that I need to access via port 80 somehow but not sure how to do that.

    Thanks for any help

    M
     
    #1 martint235, Feb 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2016
  2. Kevinfrom

    Kevinfrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If cPanel Proxy is enabled in WHM > Tweak Settings then you can access webmail using

    http://webmail.yourdomain.com which will redirect thru port 80 internally.

    yourdomain.com/webmail logs in thru port 2095/2096

    webmail.yourdomain.com logs in thru port 80 if Proxy is enabled.
     
  3. martint235

    martint235 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks very much. It looks like that had already been enabled by my hosting company and I just didn't have the right address mode. I'd tried domain.com/webmail:80 which didn't work.

    Thanks again though I'm happily back with webmail now.

    M
     
  4. Mat-d-rat

    Mat-d-rat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry for jumping in, I've got a user with the same issue. I've checked and the Proxy stuff is enabled, we setup webmail subdomain but still get a "Network access message: this page cannot be displayed", stating a proxy error. Any other ideas?
     
  5. martint235

    martint235 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    No sorry. I didn't actually setup a webmail subdomain, it was setup for me by my hosting service. I was just accessing it in the wrong way.

    Martin
     
  6. pocketbikeMike

    pocketbikeMike Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does it matter what type of subdomain you use?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  8. Mat-d-rat

    Mat-d-rat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I don't use the servers nameserver, but I did setup domain.x to point to the same IP, is there anything else I need to do?
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Can you elaborate on your question a bit more?
     
  10. Mat-d-rat

    Mat-d-rat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry that was in reference to my original post "Sorry for jumping in, I've got a user with the same issue. I've checked and the Proxy stuff is enabled, we setup webmail subdomain but still get a "Network access message: this page cannot be displayed", stating a proxy error. Any other ideas? "

    If I go to webmail....com it all works ok, but he still gets an error (Could be user error!)
     
Loading...

Share This Page