The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems adding second static ip on a OpenVZ with cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by amil, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. amil

    amil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I am experimenting problems adding new IP´s over a openVZ (managed with HyperVM) which i manage with cPanel.
    In "Alternate Main Ethernet Device" i set it to: "venet0:0".

    "Add new ip address" - i can add ip, and in "Show IP address usage" I can see IPs that i have addded in GREEN.

    But.. for example I migrate a hosting to dedicated ip and recognizes IP fut ping timeout.. can´t stablish connection.
    It seems could be any kind of network config...

    Here, the interfaces and addresses assigned:

    This is the main interface, working perfectly:

    venet0:0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    inet addr:62.x.x.160 P-t-P:62.x.x.160 Bcast:62.x.x.160 Mask:255.255.255.255

    And two IP i have added later in WHM but..doesnt ping:

    venet0:0:1 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    inet addr:62.x.x.165 P-t-P:62.x.x.165 Bcast:62.x.x.191 Mask:255.255.255.192
    UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
    -------------------
    venet0:1 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    inet addr:62.x.x.167 P-t-P:62.x.x.167 Bcast:62.x.x.191 Mask:255.255.255.192
    UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1


    IN MASTER:
    The master server have this config (in eth0), this is the dedicated:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:19:B9:F9:C6:65
    inet addr:62.x.x.152 Bcast:62.212.74.191 Mask:255.255.255.192

    venet0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:17626388 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

    (venet0 in master not show any ip).

    Thanks for help :)

    Regards,
    Victor Amil
     
  2. robertmcox

    robertmcox Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have this exact same scenario running with no problems for months. I don't recall having to do anything special to make it happen. I would look at firewall rules....

    If you're using csf on the VPS, make sure ETH_DEVICE="" and on the host, ETH_DEVICE="eth0"
     
  3. amil

    amil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Robert!
    Amazing hear this, but i do not have no one software firewall (in master or slave). Nor cfs or apf...
    Could you give me some info about your conf or anyting to compare?

    Thanks! :)

    Regards,
    Victor Amil
     
  4. amil

    amil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Solved!!

    Hi,
    I solved this adding manually a secondary ip, with vzctl in master:

    vzctl set {CTID} --ipadd {n.n.n.n} --save

    Once made, in WHM, i recalculate ip-pool and I can now work with this ip fully, working 100%.

    For any reason, if I add the ip with cPanel doesn´t assign correctly the ip (in network restart unmade network changes), maybe is a cPanel bug over OpenVZ?

    Hope this help :)

    Regards,
    Amil
     
Loading...

Share This Page