The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems after mysql update attempt

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DarkxPunk, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. DarkxPunk

    DarkxPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there,

    So I logged in and noticed a cpanel update was interrupted due to the old version of mySQL I had installed. So promptly I attempted to update mysql. It gave me an error, I attempted to restart mysql and try again. It asked me to continue cause it was interrupted, I did. Great success! Then it attempted me an easy apache update, it appeared to freeze. About an hour later I am not sure if it's finished. I visited one of my clients website that has a mySQL database set up, and now I keep getting a 500 error. Other websites work fine. I can't find a log explaining anything, I am not sure the easy apache update finished. I am so confused. So now I am asking anyone here if they have any ideas as to what is going on and how to resolve.

    Thanks!
    Michael
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. DarkxPunk

    DarkxPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well I tried to just pull that up now from ssh as root. I got denied access. ???
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you sure you utilized a command such as "tail -f" to view it, or did you only enter the log file into the command line? Are you comfortable and familiar with the command line environment?

    Thank you.
     
  5. DarkxPunk

    DarkxPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [Wed Jun 04 13:47:32.224080 2014] [:error] [pid 14909] [client 64.229.199.129:53
    414] libgcc_s.so.1 must be installed for pthread_cancel to work
    [Wed Jun 04 13:47:32.224448 2014] [core:error] [pid 14909] [client 64.229.199.12
    9:53414] End of script output before headers: 500.php

    Okay so I am confused how this came up... Anyway i can use command line, but no I am not extremely comfortable with it. I am still new to all this.
     
  6. DarkxPunk

    DarkxPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So I found the solution of the memory limitation, but why did this happen? Will it come back when I redo a easy apache config?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on the specific solution you implemented, and clarify if all issues are now resolved?

    Thank you.
     
  8. DarkxPunk

    DarkxPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will not have to take additional steps to prevent the issue from occurring again if you completed the steps from that thread. It removes the memory limit configured in the Apache configuration file.

    Thank you.
     
  10. DarkxPunk

    DarkxPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for the reassurance but that still does not explain why this happened in the first place? Was it a mysql update bug? A problem with easy apache? I am curious...

    Thanks for any more info, have a great day.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It means there was an attempt to use more memory than allowed by Apache. It's possible more memory is required for this website after the upgrade. Thus, removing that limit resolved the issue.

    Thank you.
     
  12. DarkxPunk

    DarkxPunk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the info. My last thing to say (obviously this is unrelated to you cpanel guys), ain't it pretty bad that it requires more memory to run a basic php script and mysql database in a newer version, but not in the last? That's nuts!

    Thanks again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page