The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems getting pure-ftpd to work

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by dooley3d, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. dooley3d

    dooley3d Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been fighting with pure-ftpd for a few days now.

    Currently it is installed on my server but through the course of deleting and reinstalling it a few times, I am unable to login to ftp.

    It looks like it does not have any of the login information for my accounts.
    I was using Login Failure Daemon and was booted out after 5 logins. So I know it is running and checking against something.

    And I know that LFD is not responceable because I have tried it before installing LFD.
    I do know of the button to resync ftp passwords, that has not helped.
    I have also tryed several of the scripts in /scripts to no avail.

    heres the latest ftp restart message (with out LFD running)
    root 26305 0.0 0.2 8980 1132 ? Ss 23:28 0:00 pure-ftpd (SERVER)

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    What is the output of :- ftp localhost

    Execute the command :- fuser 21/tcp
    and kill all the pids you receive and restart the ftp service.

    What exact error message you receive while connecting to any account via Ftp ?
     
  3. dooley3d

    dooley3d Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I dont get any error messages. When I login using IE I get annon and when I try to login it just keeps asking for the password.

    When I telnet in to the ftp server it takes my user name and then asks for a password.
    Once I give it a password it hangs for a second and then disconnects me
    It does the same thing when I put in a bogus username.

    I am sure its just does not have the users in its database but the sync passwords function in CPanel does not fix it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page