Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Problems installing cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by intelcorei7, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. intelcorei7

    intelcorei7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello, I am new to cPanel. I would appreciate if you could help me to get started.

    I installed CentOS as a virtual machine under Ubuntu Linux 18 using the procedure described in:

    thegeeky.space/2015/06/how-to-install-centos-in-ubuntu-virtualbox-steps-by-steps-for-dummies.html
    Then, I installed cPanel using the procedure described in:

    tecmint.com/install-cpanel-whm-in-centos-7/

    At the beginning of the installation, it asked me to disable to network manager. Please refer to the steps I took in Q3 below.

    After waiting for a long time for installation, I typed the following command exactly on Firefox:

    http://SERVER_IP:2087

    Then I found that I have no internet connection.


    Could you please let me know the following?

    Q1. Could you please let me know what to do?

    Q2. I used the steps described in: tecmint.com/install-cpanel-whm-in-centos-7/

    I did not choose this site for specific reason. I just googled ways to install cPanel. Are the steps described in this site correct? It asked me to set the hostname as follows:

    hostnamectl set-hostname cpanel.tecmint.lan

    I just followed this command blindly. Not sure if I should set the hostname to something else.


    Q3. At the beginning of the cPanel installation, it asked me to disable the network manger. I followed the steps in:

    How to Disable Network Manager - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    In Step.3, I found that I had no ifcfg-eth0 file but I had ifcfg-lo file. In the ifcfg-lo file, I could not find NM_CONTROLLED=no but ONBOOT=yes along with other commands. So, I did not modify the two files and proceed to Step 4.

    Q4. I have tried Minimal Install, Server with GUI and GNOME Desktop as Base Environment during the installation of CentOS. All ended up with the same issue of losing internet access after installation of Cpanel. Actually, which Base Environment should I choose to install CentOS if I want to install Cpanel software and log into WHM to create a website?

    Thanks
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,724
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    see if your network is up type
    ip a
    if not
    systemctl restart network.service
    if network service is not enabled
    systemctl enable network.service
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. intelcorei7

    intelcorei7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks. It seems that before installation of cPanel, I need to set a hostname. What hostname should I use?
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    HI @intelcorei7

    Ultimately you should choose a hostname that resolves to the IP address of the VM - as long as it's in the format name.domain.tld it will be sufficient.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. intelcorei7

    intelcorei7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks. I followed a YouTube video “How to install cPanel WHM on CentOS7”.

    When I executed:

    sudo wget https://securedownloads.cpanel.net/latest

    I got Resolving securedownloads.cpanel.net ... failed Name or service not known. wget: unable to resolve host address ‘securedownloadd.cpanel.net’

    Could you please let me know what to do! Thanks
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello

    Did you copy and paste this? The output has a typo which would be the reason you're unable to resolve:

    It should not contain two d's
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. intelcorei7

    intelcorei7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Sorry when I posted, I made a typo. Anyway, I am almost done. In Step.14 of:

    How to Install cPanel and WHM in CentOS 7

    After I chose "Use file system quotas" and clicked "Finish Setup Wizard", the WHM's home page did not show up. Instead, I got the following error:

    Under "cPanel License Activation"

    "Cannot Read License File

    To access the interface, you must install the license and ensure that the license is active.

    The cPanel license server said that a license could not be issued for your server (500). For more information visit: Legal Notices - cPanel Inc. The exact message was: Your clock is too far off NIST time. (205.189.187.4)"

    I went to that website but could not find useful information. Typing "/usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt" did not help.

    Could you please let me know what to do next?
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. intelcorei7

    intelcorei7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks. I followed the advice on that page and ran:

    yum install ntp
    ntpdate time.apple.com

    Then, I opened a firefox browser and re-entered my IP address with :2087 at the end. Next, I got a "Cannot Read License" error. It states that "The cPanel license server said that a license could not be issued for your server (500). For more information, visit: Legal Notices - cPanel Inc. The exact message was: No license entry found for your machine."

    At the bottom, I clicked "request a trial license". I entered my email address and got an email. The email just read "It's time to activate your 15-day cPanel & WHM license". Clicking "Install My Free Trial" just showed:

    cd /home && curl -o latest -L https://securedownloads.cpanel.net/latest && sh latest

    which I did in separate steps. The installation instruction does not mention about the license file and the email did not come with a license file. How does it work?
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @intelcorei7

    In order to make this process easier I would like to see if you can open a ticket with us using the link in my signature. Once it's opened please add the ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. intelcorei7

    intelcorei7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello Lauren, I just opened a ticket. Thanks
     
    #11 intelcorei7, Jul 6, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  12. intelcorei7

    intelcorei7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I got an automatic reply asking me to grant access. I am using a laptop with triple boots. I need to boot into linux and then run a virtual machine with CentOS. So, the virtual machine is not available all the time. What shall I do then?
     
    #12 intelcorei7, Jul 6, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  13. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @intelcorei7

    Thank you for updating with the ticket ID, We do need to be able to access the server in order to assist you, you'd need to leave it running during the time which the ticket is being worked on.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice