intelcorei7

Jul 3, 2018
USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hello, I am new to cPanel. I would appreciate if you could help me to get started.

I installed CentOS as a virtual machine under Ubuntu Linux 18 using the procedure described in:

thegeeky.space/2015/06/how-to-install-centos-in-ubuntu-virtualbox-steps-by-steps-for-dummies.html
Then, I installed cPanel using the procedure described in:

tecmint.com/install-cpanel-whm-in-centos-7/

At the beginning of the installation, it asked me to disable to network manager. Please refer to the steps I took in Q3 below.

After waiting for a long time for installation, I typed the following command exactly on Firefox:

http://SERVER_IP:2087

Then I found that I have no internet connection.

Could you please let me know the following?

Q1. Could you please let me know what to do?

Q2. I used the steps described in: tecmint.com/install-cpanel-whm-in-centos-7/

I did not choose this site for specific reason. I just googled ways to install cPanel. Are the steps described in this site correct? It asked me to set the hostname as follows:

hostnamectl set-hostname cpanel.tecmint.lan

I just followed this command blindly. Not sure if I should set the hostname to something else.

Q3. At the beginning of the cPanel installation, it asked me to disable the network manger. I followed the steps in:

How to Disable Network Manager - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

In Step.3, I found that I had no ifcfg-eth0 file but I had ifcfg-lo file. In the ifcfg-lo file, I could not find NM_CONTROLLED=no but ONBOOT=yes along with other commands. So, I did not modify the two files and proceed to Step 4.