The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems moving large cpanel account - pkgacct also failing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by santrix, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. santrix

    santrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Large account approx 17Gb... After failing to copy this using WHM, any method I tried... I thought I would try to do it from the shell...

    /scripts/pckacct xxxxnet gives this:

    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 10 - user : xxxxnet - tarball: 1 - target mysql : default - split: 0 - incremental: 0 - homedir: 1 - archive version: 3 - running with uid 0
    pkgacct working dir : /home/cpmove-xxxxnet
    Copying Reseller Config...Done
    Copying Suspension Info (if needed)...Done
    Copying SSL Certificates, CSRS, and Keys...Done
    Copying Domain Keys....Done
    Copying Counter Data....Done
    Copying Bandwidth Data......xxxxnet-ftp-rate.rrd....xxxxnet-all-peak.rrd....store.xxxx.net-all-rate.rrd....xxxxnet-imap-peak.rrd....store.xxxx.net-http-peak.rrd....xxxxnet-http-peak.rrd....store.xxxx.net....sonar.xxxx.net-all-peak.rrd....xxxxnet-smtp-peak.rrd....xxxxnet-http-rate.rrd....xxxx.net-http-peak.rrd....sonar.xxxx.net....xxxx.net....xxxxnet-pop3-rate.rrd....xxxxnet-imap-rate.rrd....farnearer.xxxx.net....sonar.xxxx.net-http-peak.rrd....store.xxxx.net-all-peak.rrd....xxxxnet....farnearer.xxxx.net-all-peak.rrd....sonar.xxxx.net-http-rate.rrd....farnearer.xxxx.net-http-rate.rrd....xxxx.net-http-rate.rrd....farnearer.xxxx.net-all-rate.rrd....xxxxnet-ftp-peak.rrd....xxxxnet-all-rate.rrd....store.xxxx.net-http-rate.rrd....xxxxnet-pop3-peak.rrd....xxxxnet-smtp-rate.rrd....xxxx.net-all-rate.rrd....farnearer.xxxx.net-http-peak.rrd....sonar.xxxx.net-all-rate.rrd....xxxx.net-all-peak.rrd..Done
    Copying Dns Zones.......farnearer.com......xxxx.net...Done
    Copying Mail files....Done
    Copying frontpage files....Done
    Copying proftpd file....Done
    Copying www logs.......log file sizes [4716377 byte(s)]......xxxx.net-smtpbytes_log......store.xxxx.net......xxxx.net-bytes_log.offset......sonar.xxxx.net......ftp.xxxx.net-ftp_log......cloud.xxxx.net......store.xxxx.net-bytes_log......ftp.xxxx.net-ftp_log.offset......xxxx.net......ftp.xxxx.net-ftp_log.offsetftpbytes......sonar.xxxx.net-bytes_log......cloud.xxxx.net-bytes_log......farnearer.xxxx.net......xxxx.net-bytes_log......farnearer.xxxx.net-bytes_log......farnearer.com...Done
    Copy userdata...Done
    Copy custom virtualhost templates...Done
    Copying mailman lists and archives..../bin/gtar: attachments/20101117/adf0cced/attachment.html: Cannot utime: No such file or directory
    /bin/gtar: attachments/20101117/facb6f99/attachment-0001.html: Cannot utime: No such file or directory <<--- then a hundred similar lines
    /bin/gtar: attachments/20101103/b104b98a/attachment.html: Cannot open: No such file or directory <<--- then thousands of similar lines
    /bin/gtar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
    Destination does not exist (/home/cpmove-xxxxsnet/mma/pub/accounts_xxxx.net), creating.
    Unable to create destination directory (/home/cpmove-xxxxsnet/mma/pub/accounts_xxxx.net). Failing.

    Any clues?
     
  2. handsonhosting

    handsonhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you verified that you have enough space on the hard drive to handle the files? You not only have to have the exist 17GB, but a temporary storage for another 17GB while it creates a new TAR file of 10-12GB. So you need quite a bit of space available.

    Also, check your version of TAR and make sure you're running the latest version. There was an issue late last year with version 1.24-1 which may be related.
     
  3. acenetgeorge

    acenetgeorge Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southfield, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    When packaging an account that large, try using the --skiphomedir flag, and then restore the account on the second server.
    That will copy all the account settings and everything but the /home/username directory.

    Then, use rsync in screen to copy the /home/username directory and its contents. You should be all set after the rsync finishes.
     
  4. santrix

    santrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi. I think the problem here is that the vast majority of the space used by the account is mailman (15Gb)... the server has 60G+ free on /home, but the root partition / only has about 5Gb free, so --skiphomedir probably isn't going to help... is there a way to specify the temporary path for this single operation?
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you simply move the mailman archives out of the way for the user?

    Code:
    cd /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/archives/private
    mv listname_domain.com /home
    mv listname_domain.com.mbox /home
    After the account has been packaged and moved over, you could then simply try to manually copy over the archives to the new machine with scp.
     
Loading...

Share This Page