The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems Updating to Latest Build (affects all but Stable)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BenThomas, Apr 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One of the recent bug fixes altered a widely used function. On some systems, depending upon the Perl version, the fix may result in /scripts/convertemails hanging. This issue is fixed in all affected builds now, but there may be difficulty upgrading your current build. If you encounter this issue please do the following to remedy this issue:

    rm -f /scripts/convertemails
    /scripts/upcp

    A hung upcp run will hang immediately following this point:
    Code:
    root@domain [~]# /scripts/upcp
    Found hostname to be XXX.XXXXXX.XXX, which resolves to X.X.X.X
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup
    PHP version file is up to date
    Ftp Quota Check v1.0
    Updating XXXXX:XXXXX....Done
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    findutils passes checksum
    net-tools passes checksum
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    If your upcp run proceeds past that point, then your system is not affected.
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Would that essentially be the same as issuing:
    /scripts/updatenow;/scripts/upcp or will that somehow not over come this bug ?
     
  3. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    convertemails is not the cause, but it calls a function in another file that causes the issue. The function can only be updated at a later point in the upcp process. The best course of action is to prevent it from running before the function can be updated by removing /scripts/convertemails.
     
  4. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    How about not being so ambiguous with "On some systems, depending upon the Perl version" and actually outlining what systems and what perl version so we can "head things off at the pass". Letting us know which machines are likely to have the issue will allow us to better prepare when we have *many*.
     
  5. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The safest bet is to assume that all your systems are affected and initiate the workaround described above. For such tasks I highly recommend fanout. If you're not familiar with fanout, it's a simple bash script that allows one to execute non-interactive commands to any number of computers at the same time over ssh. It requires that you have ssh keys installed on the computers and ssh-agent running, but it can be a real time saver.

    http://www.stearns.org/fanout/

    To answer your question more directly, affected systems have a broken implementation of Perl's readlink function. This is a core function, and I was stupified to learn that it could be broken. Here's how it behaves normally:

    Code:
    [user:/]$ ls -l mount1
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 9 Apr 29 12:29 mount1 -> /linktest/
    [user:/]$ perl -e 'print readlink("/mount1") . "\n";'
    /linktest
    And Broken:
    Code:
    [user:/]$ ls -l mount1
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 9 Apr 29 12:29 mount1 -> /linktest/
    [user:/]$ perl -e 'print readlink("/mount1") . "\n";'
    linktest
    Determining what systems are affected is a little difficult, because sometimes readlink functions properly. So either pre-emptively fixing all your servers or just waiting to see which one's are affected is a difficult decision. At this point it's really a moot point, because if your system hasn't already been affected, then it shouldn't ever be affected.
     
  6. philja

    philja Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello! I have issue with "convertemails" running and eating all CPU resources.

    I have removed the "convertemails"
    as suggested : rm -f /scripts/convertemails

    But I am not sure if I can start : /scripts/upcp , because I have process "convertemails" still running on system. ( I have lowered the priority of "convertemaisls" to lowest so)
     
  7. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Running:

    killall convertemails

    should zap the processes. After running that command, the upcp process may proceed normally. Afterwards, you may want to run upcp once again just to be sure.
     
  8. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    For what its worth ( if anything ) i've only seen this on one box, and it's running centos 3.4, perl 5.8.4 ( built off layer1 ) .. no others seem to have been affected. This box was also the only centos3.4 cpanel box I have running release ( as opposed to current ).
     
  9. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If anyone is running FREEBSD 4.8-5.3 we have not seen any problems with upcp if you are wondering... :)
     
  10. white sox

    white sox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    ssh freezes for me at this point

    "Hostname Virtual Host is already setup"

    my server is very unstable and it seems i can't do anything to fix it.
     
  11. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hit control+c

    it aint a fix, but it will continuo updating..
     
  12. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Actually, i think theres a major memory leak in the latest release. I updated yesterday to release (when will i learn my lesson) from stable, and today there were SEVERAL defunct processes and my swap was at 80% usage. rolled back to stable, and everythings back to normal.
     
  13. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Not sure what OS you are using becuase you didnt say, however Linux x86 release and stable are exactly the same build.
     
  14. So_alegria

    So_alegria Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    BRASIL
    i have a problem! i don't obtain update the cpanel! the upcp stop !

    i have a problem! i don't obtain update the cpanel! the upcp stop !
    the upcp isn't working! how do i fix this??


    root@rsdhost02 [~]# /scripts/upcp
    Updating /scripts ...
    Sync Source: http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/CURRENT/scripts
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/CURRENT/scripts/.cpanelsync.loc
    k (0)....@69.90.250.35......connected......receiving...100%......Done
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/CURRENT/scripts/.cpanelsync.bz2
    (0)....@69.90.250.35......connected......receiving...34%...68%...100%......Done
    Done updating /scripts
    Found hostname to be rsdhost02.rsdhost.com, which resolves to 69.93.61.210
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup
    PHP version file is up to date
    Ftp Quota Check v1.0
    Updating webgama:rodox....Done
    Updating mandalla:bigartes....Done
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
     
  15. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you're saying that you have the problem that is the topic of this thread, then the fix has been posted above. If not, then you should not be posting to this thread as it doesn't relate to your problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page