The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems viewing CPanel in Mac OSX

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GrimReaper, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. GrimReaper

    GrimReaper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi All,

    I have a customer who is having some problems viewing their CPanel in Macintosh OSX running Internet Explorer 5.2.2.

    Has anyone else run into this problem on a mac before? if so is there a fix for it? (Don't say buy a pc).

    Thanks.
    Chris. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. maverick2

    maverick2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have a number of customers using a similar setup without any problems. Which CPanel theme are you running? Are they able to log in at all or are they just having display problems? Is possible that they have a firewall setup blocking port 2082?

    Mav.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. GrimReaper

    GrimReaper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Mav,

    I'll have to check on the other questions, however I am using the "x" theme at the moment.

    The firewall is possible i'll have to check on that. Are there any default firewalls installed on osx?

    Chris. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. xsenses

    xsenses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, Ca
    There is a firewall installed with OSX, but to my knowledge it is not active. You can check under System Preferences>Sharing>Firewall. I have multiple OSX machines and have never had a problem with cPanel/WHM with I.E. on occasion I get a hang using Safari.
     
  5. imagic

    imagic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there a fix for this? We just got 2 complaints from 2 separate clients about getting gibberish when they try to go to their cpanel.

    These people have been using macs, so something seems to have changed.
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Its working fine for me.. I'm posting this from safari on os x.
     
  7. michaelcaplan

    michaelcaplan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is a real longshot, but I am wondering if this mac problem is specific to the latest stable Cpanel running Redhat 9. Because of a problem with glibc, Cpanel's php command line builds broken:

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php -q
    Incorrectly built binary which accesses errno, h_errno or _res directly. Needs to be fixed.

    This results in slightly weird headers being outputed to the browser when cpaneld parses a php script. For example:

    HTTP/1.x 200 OK
    Server: cpaneld/8.0, cpaneld/8.0
    Connection: close, close
    Date: Mon, 20 Oct 2003 20:04:29 -0400
    HTTP/1.0: 200 OK
    Incorrectly: built binary which accesses errno, h_errno or _res directly. Needs to be fixed.
    X-Powered-By: PHP/4.2.3
    X-ob_mode: 1
    Expires: Tue, 21 Oct 2003 00:04:29 GMT
    Last-Modified: Tue, 21 Oct 2003 00:04:29 GMT
    Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, pre-check=0, post-check=0, max-age=0
    Pragma: no-cache
    Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1

    A mac client of mine is complaining that horde and squirrelmail are not working, while it works fine for the rest of my users (all PC or linux based). The only thing I can think of is Safari and mac IE are choking on this messed header.

    Could this be?

    Michael
     
  8. teknowebworks

    teknowebworks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    is this going to be fixed anytime soon? I have clients complaing about this, i'm on the latest edge release.
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Rather than posting to a year old thread, you're only real chance is to open a support request with your symptons since this isn't the place to request (potential) bugs. Especially, since back in 'ole 03 there was no fault found in many peoples experience.
     
  10. teknowebworks

    teknowebworks Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Didn't realize the thread was so old, I was doing a search. :)
     
  11. maverick

    maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We've had Mac users complaining about this problem too since the last update (WHM 9.4.0 cPanel 9.4.1-R64). I don't have a Mac so I can't confirm it and am still not sure about combinations of browser/OS show up the problem. Are there any Mac users out there that can shed any light on this? Horde seems to be the major complaint we're getting with PHP headers being shown.

    Mav.
     
  12. dandanfireman

    dandanfireman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cpanel 9.4.1 E73 is fine in Camino (Mozilla based).

    Horde is broken in IE 5.2.2. It downloads login.php and attempts to open it in the related PHP editing program. CpanelX loaded fine.

    Horde and cpanelX both load fine in Safari.

    These were tested on a MAC G5, OS 10.3.4
     
  13. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    IE for Mac was a nice browser at one time, well ahead of others in it's day. It hasn't been in active development for some time and I haven't looked back since switching to Safari. I think though, that it (IE) may be the only choice for people using OSX 10.1. I believe 10.2.x is the min requirement for Safari. Personally, I don't know too many Maxc users still using IE. I think the numbers are pretty low.
     
Loading...

Share This Page