Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Problems with adding new mount point (/home2)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lauer, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. lauer

    lauer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello

    I am running cPanel on a CentOS 5.2 server in a VMware virtual machine.
    After some months I need to add a new disk/homefolder, because the old one is almost filled op.

    Så I added the disk to the server, added a scsi disk in vmware to the vm guest, and let the CentOS search for new scsi drives.

    When I make a Linux LVM partition and added it to a new lvm group and so on. When I maked the partition to a ext3 with mkfs
    At last I added it in /etc/fstab as following.

    Code:
    /dev/data/data          /home2                  ext3    defaults,usrquota        1 2
    And after it got mounted, it seems to work. I can make some files in the directory, but it seems like WHM have som problems in using it.

    The disk is showed in Disk Usage / Graphs but not in Format/Mount a new Hard Drive

    Do I have to runs some scripts before I can move and create accounts on that drive?

    Default Home Directory: /home
    Home Directory Prefix: home

    Right now /home isn't a mountpoint, but just a folder under the mountpoint /. Is that the problem?

    Kind Regards
    Jesper Laursen

    Code:
    # mount
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    /dev/sda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    /usr/tmpDSK on /tmp type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid,loop=/dev/loop0)
    /tmp on /var/tmp type none (rw,noexec,nosuid,bind)
    sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
    /dev/mapper/data-data on /home2 type ext3 (rw,usrquota)
    /dev/mapper/data-backup on /backup type ext3 (rw)
    
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It won't show up in Format/Mount new hard drive because you already fomatted and mounted it.

    With your current settings new accounts should be created in /home2. Have you created a test account to verify?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lauer

    lauer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hmm, yes, a new account gets home2 as mount point, but I can't still not rearrange old accounts.

    Is there a solution to that?
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should be able to move existing accounts to /home2 using the Rearrange Accounts function. However you will not be able to move accounts to /home as it is not a mount point.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. lauer

    lauer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    No, I can't move accounts to home2.
    On the rearrange page i just get this message:

    Please choose a new mount point for this account <Sorry, there is only one drive in this machine>.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice