The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problems with an ftp logon

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dorijan, Mar 18, 2003.

  1. dorijan

    dorijan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I've just finished setting up cpanel on my fsb4.7 server

    all runs good so far except for the ftp logon of one user
    he always gets login/pwd wrong

    he can login via webmail/cpanel/ssh/mail

    but not via ftp

    i've tried ftp pw synch and even reset his pwd in the WHM but still no work

    any ideas ?
     
  2. khoonchee

    khoonchee Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello dorijan,

    I have this problem also.Do you get the solutions?



    Andy
     
  3. mesranet

    mesranet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I face same problem here, how can i fix that

    Please help.
     
  4. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    The problem is well known but I don't see anyone from CPanel solving this.

    I created additional FTP accounts and no one can be accesible by FTP, just main one .

    Ticket is open now almost two weeks and no one respond !
     
  5. Woofcat

    Woofcat Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i've found that adding ftp accounts using xskin corrupts the proftpd database for that account... need to manually edit /etc/proftpd/username and delete the corrupted entries... switched to bluelagoon and all works well...
     
  6. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same problem here !!!!!!
    Support ticket 10 days old
     
  7. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now that is the problem then. I shall have to switch all users over to blue lagoon.
     
  8. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    I don't know how this will solve this problem as FTP accounts are already created and how skin can cause an error in creating FTP accounts.

    Please when You switch to blue lagun please tell us is that solved problem

    Thanks
     
  9. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same problem with Bluelagun here
     
  10. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    okay here is what i did.

    1. change the users skin over to bluelagoon
    2. stop proftpd and cpanel ( no logins at all, we are fixing something lets not mess it up )
    3. cd /etc/proftpd/
    4. Now you need to use nano/pico/edit/ee/vi to edit anything that isnt *_logs. If you have a lot of accounts, i wish you luck.

    Example:

    account named wrjames:

    Code:
    frankie:$1$52605 6
    :2014:2014wrjames:$1$yZVVyN6e$SpbQDYYSPqG/Y2C6QzT2Q0:2014:2014:User &:/usr/home/wrjames:/bin/bash
    ftp:*:1003:1003:&:/usr/home/wrjames/public_ftp:/usr/local/bin/bash
    wrjames_logs:$1$yZVVyN6e$SpbQDYYSPqG/Y2C6QzT2Q0:2014:2014:wrjames:/usr/local/apache/domlogs:/bin/ftpsh
    
    has that in /etc/proftpd/wrjames

    now, i dont know if you can see whats wrong but i will show you.

    Code:
    [b]frankie:$1$52605 6
    :2014:2014[/b]wrjames:$1$yZVVyN6e$SpbQDYYSPqG/Y2C6QzT2Q0:2014:2014:User &:/usr/home/wrjames:/bin/bash
    ftp:*:1003:1003:&:/usr/home/wrjames/public_ftp:/usr/local/bin/bash
    wrjames_logs:$1$yZVVyN6e$SpbQDYYSPqG/Y2C6QzT2Q0:2014:2014:wrjames:/usr/local/apache/domlogs:/bin/ftpsh
    
    The rest is correct, if the user tried to add multiple accounts and failing ( duh its corrupt ), you basically have to remove those as well.

    Now that you have done that for all your users, you will need to restart proftpd and cpanel. Enjoy.
     
  11. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hope that helps.
     
  12. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello!

    I'm jumping in here to see if you can help :)

    Here's how my user file looks like:

    girdles:34DNNAvbO0kXY:1017:1018:ffocus:/usr/home/admin/accounts/ffocus/public_html/girdles:/bin/ftpsh
    ffocus_logs:$1$9sDLUGAG$Ga57MmATrzx0j4zDTu9cn/:1017:1018:ffocus:/usr/local/apache/domlogs:/bin/ftpsh
    lottis:63MfCV7jCmsZw:1017:1018:ffocus:/usr/home/admin/accounts/ffocus/public_html:/bin/ftpsh
    ffocus::1017:1018::/usr/home/admin/accounts/ffocus:/bin/ftpsh
    ftp:*:1004:1005::/home/ftp:/usr/local/bin/bash

    No I have tried to change to /bin/bash, tried to change the :ffocus
    that is listed where you have :user - to user.
    Also I can't find "ftpsh" file/prog anywhere on the server !

    Regards Jerry
     
  13. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The thing i see wrong with that one is there is no encrypted password:

    Code:
    girdles:34DNNAvbO0kXY:1017:1018:ffocus:/usr/home/admin/accounts/ffocus/public_html/girdles:/bin/ftpsh
    ffocus_logs:$1$9sDLUGAG$Ga57MmATrzx0j4zDTu9cn/:1017:1018:ffocus:/usr/local/apache/domlogs:/bin/ftpsh
    lottis:63MfCV7jCmsZw:1017:1018:ffocus:/usr/home/admin/accounts/ffocus/public_html:/bin/ftpsh
    ffocus:[b]no password encrypted here[/b]:1017:1018::/usr/home/admin/accounts/ffocus:/bin/ftpsh
    ftp:*:1004:1005::/home/ftp:/usr/local/bin/bash
    
    I am not sure, but i do believe all encrypted passwords have to have the $ in front of it. ( i am not sure )

    If you want, remove the girldles and lottis lines.

    Ending up with ( bold text is encrypted pass ):

    Code:
    ffocus_logs:[b]$1$9sDLUGAG$Ga57MmATrzx0j4zDTu9cn/[/b]:1017:1018:ffocus:/usr/local/apache/domlogs:/bin/ftpsh
    ffocus:[b]$1$9sDLUGAG$Ga57MmATrzx0j4zDTu9cn/[/b]:1017:1018::/usr/home/admin/accounts/ffocus:/bin/ftpsh
    ftp:*:1004:1005::/home/ftp:/usr/local/bin/bash
    
    If i am wrong, please correct me.
     
  14. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ftpsh is just to let proftpd know that they can FTP because if that is set to /bin/nologin or /bin/false it wont allow the user to login.
     
  15. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help - But the ffocus account is the only one working. That is the main account - all other accounts is
    not working. And I need to have the password for ffocus
    when I login so I guess theres a passwrod somewhere :).

    This applies to all my domains.
    Main/Setup account works but not the rest that we setup ourself.
     
  16. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are you using a reseller package? If so contact your host, if not, its time to get down and dirty and clean all those files up.
     
  17. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    NOTE

    NOTE THE FOLLOWING:

    The fix i have suggested will fix all the random stuff coming up in the accounts section of the FTP, but it seems to come back again. It seems to me that a WHM/cPanel script has gone haywire.
     
Loading...

Share This Page