The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with bind or apache

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by m0rpheu5, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. m0rpheu5

    m0rpheu5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brazil, Curitiba/PR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys, i´m having a big problem in two NEW servers, my server is online, but when i try to access the websites, sometimes they´re online, sometimes they´re offline, i don´t know what could be, the Server is a P4 3.4HT, using CentOS 4.x and cPanel, anybody know what could be??

    Thanks
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Can you ping the server when the Web sites are offline?
     
  3. m0rpheu5

    m0rpheu5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brazil, Curitiba/PR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sometimes, when i can ping, i only restart the apache, when the ping fail, i restart the dns and apache.
     
  4. designeru

    designeru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When it's down... ping the website (not the ip). If it's working the DNS is doing it's job.
    If it's not working.... you found the problem.

    If DNS is ok... then try restarting apache. If this help, great you found the problem. Try checking your logs to see if you have any other problems (dmesg could be a great start). Also check out your load.

    If everything is ok, BIND restarted, APACHE restarted and still not working, try pinging the ip. If it's not working, try pinging from www.dnsstuff.com (do this site your friend).

    Check your websites with www.dnsreport.com, it's a great tool... try resolving all those red marked problems.
     
  5. m0rpheu5

    m0rpheu5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brazil, Curitiba/PR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Men, i use the www.dnsreport.com and found a problem, the problem is Open DNS Servers!!

    ERROR: One or more of your nameservers reports that it is an open DNS server. This usually means that anyone in the world can query it for domains it is not authoritative for (it is possible that the DNS server advertises that it does recursive lookups when it does not, but that shouldn't happen). This can cause an excessive load on your DNS server. Also, it is strongly discouraged to have a DNS server be both authoritative for your domain and be recursive (even if it is not open), due to the potential for cache poisoning (with no recursion, there is no cache, and it is impossible to poison it). Also, the bad guys could use your DNS server as part of an attack, by forging their IP address. Problem record(s) are:

    Server 72.232.49.109 reports that it will do recursive lookups. [test]
    Server 72.232.49.110 reports that it will do recursive lookups. [test]


    See this page for info on closing open DNS servers.

    What i need to do to fix my problem =\
     
  6. skyhorse

    skyhorse Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    fixing open dns servers

    if you do a search for "open dns" in this forum you'll find loads of threads about this...
    have a quick look at this tutorial: Fixing open DNS servers as well, it might help...
    always remember to backup your named.conf before any changes!

    sky
     
  7. m0rpheu5

    m0rpheu5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brazil, Curitiba/PR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Thanks Skyhorse, but now, i use the dnsreport.com again, and the open dns is ok, but appear another error to me, the error is Single Point of Failure.

    ERROR: Although you have at least 2 NS records, they both point to the same server, resulting in a single point of failure. You are required to have at least 2 nameservers per RFC 1035 section 2.2.

    What is this??
    Thanks
     
  8. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    It means both name server IP's are located in the same place. It is not a big deal but you could use your DC name servers as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page