The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with Bulletin Boards

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by david_harvey, Mar 2, 2004.

  1. david_harvey

    david_harvey Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use the cPanel on my web host and use the Bulletin Board feature. It installs it fine up to a certain point.
    It creates the admin account fine and all other user accounts but the problem is not in the account creation but in the login.index. Several of my users including myself when trying to either Log-in or Logout get a "Cannont find " error. For example when logging in I would type in my information

    ADMIN/ADMIN i.e and click login. It would act like its doing something then open a "Cannot find page" this is the link it gives me when trying to login.

    But after it brings up the "Cannont find page" .. page you can press BACK and then click on the forums and it will show you as logged in. It's like its logging in but missing some sort of code that processes the redirection to the forums after login.

    I am not quite sure wether or not this is a cPanel issue, a phpBB issue or a host issue. Any iformation that can assist me would be much appreciated,

    Thanks
     
  2. massilia

    massilia Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I got exactly the same problem.
    After login as ADMIN, I got the same message "Cannot find page" error. This error do not occurs when logging as a simple user...
    After loggin as ADMIN, I can check forums manually by typing http://xxxx/forums/viewforum.php?f=2 for example but impossible to see index.php which always return a "Cannot find page" error.

    I also think that it's a phpBB problem.


    Ps: the solution

    I have just looked at your forum, and it shows the symptoms of the conflict caused by Zend Optimizer 2.5.
    Did your host recently update his version of Zend Optimizer ?
    This is a known problem caused by ZO ver 2.5.
    If you have access to your php.ini file(probably not), you can experiment by trying optimization level 0
    (you can do it by editing your php.ini:
    zend_optimizer.optimization_level=0 )
    or optimization level 1, and see if it helps.

    Reports show that setting it to 1 or 0 has helped.

    The latest phpBB package *may* help, see this announcement.
    http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=177594
     
    #2 massilia, Mar 5, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2004
  3. david_harvey

    david_harvey Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you very much, I will have to try this.
     
  4. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I wonder how long it'll take for cpanel to update phpbb....*Starts clock*
     
  5. raventec

    raventec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The problem is with Zend from what I understand. Had the same problem here and zend_optimizer.optimization_level=1 seems to work ok.
    Zend is aware of the issue and will be releasing an update.... sometime
     
  6. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so if i make: zend_optimizer.optimization_level=1 .. it should work?
     
  7. raventec

    raventec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes it should work 1 or 0
     
  8. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #8 damainman, Mar 11, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2004
  9. Lippy

    Lippy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This does not always fix it. Uninstalling Zend by either replacing the new php.ini with the backup Zend makes on install php-ini-zendoptimzer.bak will effectivly remove Zend from running.

    I am still looking for a way of downgrading Zend from 2.5 to an earlier release that works with phpbb and allows use of the encoding and decoding of php in programs like modernbill. If you know of a way, please advise.

    Thank you,
     
  10. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    man this sucks.

    Everything in my forums work, as long as it doesn't involve logging in. For example a guest user can post messages, in the forums i have set up so anyone can post.. but when u try to post in a topic where u need to log in.. you get a "The page cannot be displayed"

    If you try to log in.. you get a "The page cannot be displayed"

    If your logged in, and try to log out.. you get a "The page cannot be displayed"
     
  11. Lippy

    Lippy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you have Zend optimizer installed version 2.5 that is the problem. Try changing the php.ini back to the one before Zend was installed.
     
  12. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    Beside problems you described I have additional problem with every phpBB installed on my box. Users can't reply to any posts. Did some of you experienced this problem too ?

    I have installed Zend optimazer but I can't disable it because Modernbill is running on this box. It is no possible to downgrade as it is new server and there is no previous version.
     
  13. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if anyone keeps track of zend and remembers, it would be appreciated if you update this post, when zend comes out with a new update that supports phpbb :)
     
  14. Complex Logics

    Complex Logics Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    edit /scripts/installzendopt

    find the url in that script that points to zend.com and then find the 714 near the end of the url and change that to 548 on both lines. Save the file.

    run the script!

    Note that this is to get you version 2.1.0 for linux servers which didn't have issues like 2.5.0 and 2.5.1
     
  15. phpman

    phpman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
    Solution

    pico -w /scripts/installzendopt

    change line

    my %urls = (
    Linux => 'http://www.zend.com/store/getfreefile.php?pid=13&zbid=718&iagree=1',

    for

    my %urls = (
    Linux => 'http://www.zend.com/store/getfreefile.php?pid=13&zbid=548&iagree=1',

    Save and Exit

    Reinstall Zend

    /scripts/installzendopt

    Best regards
     
Loading...

Share This Page