The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with Implementing ror_setup environment in Cpanel/WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by web-develop.net, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. web-develop.net

    web-develop.net Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guys,

    I seem to have a problem with installing Ruby on Rails with Cpanel.

    WHM 11.30.0 (build 32)
    CENTOS 5.6 x86_64 xenpv

    I configured Cpanel to the way I wanted to do it, certain builds and such.

    I ran the /scripts/installruby ... and it installed:


    /scripts/installruby
    C compiler (/usr/bin/gcc) OK (cached Tue Jun 21 23:07:05 2011)
    gem system update ...
    Latest version currently installed. Aborting.
    gem system update complete.

    Installing rails...

    Successfully installed rails-2.3.11
    1 gem installed
    Installing ri documentation for rails-2.3.11...
    Installing RDoc documentation for rails-2.3.11...
    Building native extensions. This could take a while...
    Successfully installed mongrel-1.1.5
    Building native extensions. This could take a while...
    Successfully installed sqlite3-1.3.3
    2 gems installed
    Installing ri documentation for mongrel-1.1.5...
    Installing ri documentation for sqlite3-1.3.3...

    No definition for libversion

    Enclosing class/module 'mSqlite3' for class Statement not known
    Installing RDoc documentation for mongrel-1.1.5...
    Installing RDoc documentation for sqlite3-1.3.3...

    No definition for libversion

    Enclosing class/module 'mSqlite3' for class Statement not known
    Ruby - & - Rails Installed
    Configuring perl magic....Off
    Configuring php-pear magic....Off
    Configuring ruby magic....Off
    Configuring php-pecl magic....Off
    mongrel is up to date. Execute '/usr/local/cpanel/bin/updatemongrel --force' to force an
    update.

    I then went to implement /usr/local/cpanel/bin/ror_setup ... and nothing happens.

    sh-3.2# /usr/local/cpanel/bin/ror_setup
    sh-3.2# /usr/local/cpanel/bin/ror_setup
    sh-3.2# /usr/local/cpanel/bin/ror_setup
    (note: I tried it 3 times just to make sure)

    I checked cpanel --> software and there is no Ruby on Rails icon.

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There are two items in Feature Manager you might want to make sure are ticked: Ruby on Rails and Install Ruby Modules.
    I can't help past that with this, but I do know these items are on the Feature List.

    WHM > Packages > Feature Manager, edit default list.
     
  3. web-develop.net

    web-develop.net Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply Infopro,

    Those items are 'checked' in the default list.

    However it still has problems to setup properly ... Anyone else help?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You could try using the "force" flag to see if that results in any specific error message:

    Code:
    # /scripts/installruby --force
    However, I suggest opening a support ticket for this issue so we may investigate and determine the exact reason the Ruby icon is not displayed in cPanel:

    Submit A Ticket

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page