The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with MySQL in control panel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by EtoCaNNa, Aug 17, 2004.

  1. EtoCaNNa

    EtoCaNNa Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Having trouble adding databases and users in mysql through cpanel. Cpanel is telling me said databases and users are being added but when I return to MySQL home there's nothing there.

    Thanks!
     
  2. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says "added" and then sometimes "Sorry no more user database available" (not exact words but to that effect).

    If so, that simply means the user used up all databases. Adjust the account to increase the databases allowed.
     
  3. EtoCaNNa

    EtoCaNNa Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It is not, it happens to me in all the accounts. In phpmyadmin yes can I create users y BD, but panel not.

    Thanks!!
     
  4. DJDarknez

    DJDarknez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    I'm having the same exact problem, which is the main reason I registered here.

    I add a DB, it says it added the DB, but when I click "Go Back" or even the "Home" link, it's not there. And under "General Account Information" it says I have "0/5" databases.

    I tried finding a way to delete the databases, but there was no option in phpmyadmin.

    There were 2 DB's...one for a guestbook and one for a forum. Though the databases did not show up in the SQL manager, nor in the "General Account Information", the guestbook still worked.

    I'm not the admin for the server, so I don't have access to the back-end code on the server. Anything I can tell the people that run the site? I think that both they and I are new to the cPanel software, so we're not exactly sure where to go from here.

    Stats:

    Operating system: Linux
    Kernel version: 2.4.20-28.9
    Apache version: 1.3.31 (Unix)
    PHP version: 4.3.8
    MySQL version: 4.0.20-standard
    cPanel Build: 9.7.2-CURRENT 11
     
  5. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Does anyone have a ticket #?
     
  6. DJDarknez

    DJDarknez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Not I. Apparently we don't have the "pro" level or whatever. There is nothing under the "Submit a Support Request". Literally. It says "Go Back". That's it.
     
  7. DJDarknez

    DJDarknez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Bumpity bump bump.

    Anyone?
     
  8. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What cpanel themes are you all using. Have you tried changing cpanel themes for the account to see if its related? More often than not it is, especially if you are using an older, no longer produced theme.
     
  9. DJDarknez

    DJDarknez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well..........the front side of cpanel has changed. So, it's a little different now......

    General server information:
    Operating system Linux
    Service Status Click to View
    Kernel version 2.4.20-28.9
    Apache version 1.3.31 (Unix)
    PERL version 5.8.1
    Path to PERL
    Path to sendmail
    Installed Perl Modules Click to View
    PHP version 4.3.8
    MySQL version 4.0.20-standard
    cPanel Build 9.7.2-CURRENT 11
    Theme cPanel X v2.5.0
    Documentation Click to View
    cPanel Pro 1.0 (RC1)

    Edit: Also, keep in mind, I don't have access to the back-end of the cPanel software. I'm being sort of a go-between because the guy who does run the server is just too damn busy.
     
    #9 DJDarknez, Aug 24, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2004
  10. DJDarknez

    DJDarknez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    Anyone? My forums are slowing growing and they're still on a temporary server....
     
  11. DJDarknez

    DJDarknez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    No one, eh? No one can help me? The people who designed the software can't help me? Can't even point me in the right direction? Nothing?
     
  12. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    You will need to contact your host. Without root access tot he server there is nothing we can look at.
     
  13. Limedrink

    Limedrink Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem after I completed a server migration. When I login to SSH as root and type 'mysql', I get 'ERROR 1045: Access denied for user: 'root@localhost' (Using password: YES)'. Tried resetting the password, didn't work. Seems like the password for the SQL server is not being set correctly. Any ideas?


    Thanks,

    Limedrink.
     
  14. Limedrink

    Limedrink Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Problem solved: Force reset your MySQL password to a password without any special characters.

    Good luck.


    Cheers,

    Limedrink.
     
  15. edesignway

    edesignway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have changed the password and am still encountering this error.

    No MySQL databases can be created through cPanel.

    If I try to access phpMyAdmin I receive "Wrong username/password. Access denied."

    When I type mysql at command, I get

    root@hudson [/]# mysql
    ERROR 1045: Access denied for user: 'root@localhost' (Using password: YES)

    Red Hat Enterprise 3
    MySQL version 4.0.20-standard
    cPanel Build 9.7.2-CURRENT 17
     
    #15 edesignway, Aug 29, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2004
  16. edesignway

    edesignway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have also tried downgrading to MySQL 3 and run into the same issue.
     
  17. Limedrink

    Limedrink Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That is the same problem I had been encountering. You sure you changed your password to a password without any special characters?


    Limedrink.
     
  18. edesignway

    edesignway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I trtied that... I changed that password to aaaa and no luck. EV1 Tech support tried getting on the server and nothing worked for the.

    What I did (and I don't recommend this for a live server) is removed the /var/lib/mysql/mysql directory, downgraded and then upgraded MySQL and it is fixed. The only thing I have to do now is add all the users that are supposed to by in the user table.
     
  19. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    BUMP!

    Someone please get this working, it has been broken for a while now.
    I've tried the following and nothing has worked.

    Reset Mysql local password - does not work
    Reset Mysql password - does not work
    /scripts/fixcommonproblems - does not work
    /scripts/fixmysql - does not work
    Updated Cpanel to the latest Stable and Current releases - does not work
    Chown root.mysql and mysql.mysql to /var/lib/mysql - does not work

    Please provide a solution for this ASAP.
     
  20. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    does anyone have a solution for this ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page