The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with nameservers after moving cPanel vhd to new host

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by rnelan, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. rnelan

    rnelan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi folks,

    I virtualized my installation of cPanel on Server 2012R2 hyper-v. It has run pretty good for a while and now I find that the underlying hardware needs to be updated. What I want to do is export the VM to a folder, move that folder to a new machine, import the VM, correct the NIC configuration to adjust for the new MAC address, fire it up and move on...

    So, I have made it past the part where I correct the MAC address. CPanel now starts up without any errors on the CentOS startup screens. I make it to the root prompt without any problems. In fact, after logging in, I can ping anywhere I want as long as I have the IP address. You see, named is running, but not answering requests.

    Before I describe the problem, I will say that I can get to WHM only on port 2086. Also, remember, the setup works perfectly on the original server hardware.

    None of my customers domains resolve (no answer from BIND/NAMED)
    "Digging" any domain I host from the outside world (or from the server itself) goes unanswered. Queries reflect in the output, but the answer counter always shows 0.
    IntoDNS shows errors. My nameservers aren't answering.
    Port 53 is open on all IP addresses in iptables.
    Netstat shows the server listening on 53.
    Although I am not a DNS pro, I could find A records in each zone.

    Who wants to take a swing at this one.. I have tried to figure it out all day. This has to be related to the import of the VM. The only changes made are to correct the MAC address in a couple files and remove a UUID statement in the ifcfg-eth0 file...

    I have turned up the old machine for continuity of business purposes, but would love to get it shut down and finally move to the new server.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try rebuilding the /etc/named.conf file with the following command:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    You can also ensure there was no zone corruption during the server transfer by deleting and re-creating a single DNS zone and checking to see if it starts loading. You should make note of any custom DNS entries or backup the zone before deleting it.

    Thank you.
     
  3. rnelan

    rnelan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks for the reply! I have already tried deleting and recreating one zone in WHM. That didn't change anything. I will have to spin up the new server once I get home this afternoon to run the code that you provided. Will let you know if anything changes tonight.

    Appreciate the help!

    Roger
     
  4. rnelan

    rnelan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Michael,

    So, ran the code that you posted then rebooted, also deleted/recreated a single zone. Same result. This is starting to get to be a bit frustrating.. I shut down the new server and powered up the old one until I get another suggestion..

    Code:
      ; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1 <<>> datalocktech.com
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 21371
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;datalocktech.com.		IN	A
    
    ;; Query time: 4585 msec
    ;; SERVER: 71.242.0.12#53(71.242.0.12)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jan 23 15:39:38 2014
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 34 
     
  5. rnelan

    rnelan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Waldorf, MD
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cPanelMichael,

    Tried what you suggested, but no difference in the behavior. Any other suggestions?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page