The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with the nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by NLCJ, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. NLCJ

    NLCJ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I've been using cPanel for 3 weeks now and it's a great system, but I do have some problems. Sometimes the nameserver's A entry gets deleted and we are automatically redirected to the second nameserver, this is getting annoying because it looks like the server is offline (allthough it isn't).

    Second question, is it possible to have more than 4 nameservers?

    Regards,
    NLCJ
     
  2. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Are you using cPanel DNS Clustering?

    The symptoms sound like you may have a cluster member that still has an old copy of the DNS zone without the required sub-domain (A record). If a ticket can be submitted for this we will be able to more thoroughly investigate and assist with corrective measures where applicable.

    It is technically possible, but up to 4 unique DNS/name servers may be specified at a time via WHM Basic Server Setup (for server-wide defaults) or WHM Reseller Center (for customized entries per reseller). Using more would require customizing the DNS zone templates to ensure they are used after having configured all of them in a DNS cluster; editing DNS zone templates would also only take affect for new account creations and new domain additions; existing accounts or domains would need to have the DNS zone updated manually (e.g., DNS Zone Editor in WHM). I would personally not use more than 4 as doing so it may incur unnecessary complexity.
     
  3. NLCJ

    NLCJ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you, I'm installing another server now and will contact if problems occur (this one will stay at home).
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a side note to those experiencing DNS and / or web access problems that may possibly related to this issue and similar ...

    Day before yesterday, the country of Sweden forgot to put a single punctuation mark in the root country zone (.se) and effectively knocked their entire country offline and every site with a ".se" extension and this also broke tens of thousands of internet routes causing networks to stall and become overloaded around the world and also the bad resolution information also got replicated to other root servers causing additional resolution issues in other DNS systems across the internet.

    The end result is substantial disruption of internet access on a global scale but because the way this has come down, the vast majority of people out there are just assuming problems with their own home computer, ISPs, or web hosting providers / data centers and actually none of the above is true. The entire internet globally is having trouble!

    I suspect that as the reset of the world catches up on the fixes, this problem should gradually clear up and resolve itself over the course of the next couple of days.

    So much for "Polish" jokes. Sweden is the new Poland ;)


    PS: Moderators, feel free to split this to it's own thread if you think this should be better placed more visible.
     
    #4 Spiral, Oct 14, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page