The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with Viewing pages.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by reQ, Jun 22, 2006.

  1. reQ

    reQ Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    While trying to retrieve the URL: http://pitchinvasion.net/

    The following error was encountered:

    Unable to determine IP address from host name for pitchinvasion.net
    The dnsserver returned:

    Name Error: The domain name does not exist.
    This means that:

    The cache was not able to resolve the hostname presented in the URL.
    Check if the address is correct.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    This is the message I get when I try to view a newly formed PHP-nuke site. Admittedly I am still new to this side of things, and that may be my downfall. However, I would like to know if anyone else seems to get this problem.

    > I addon a domain

    > Create new PhP web with new domain

    > try to view, what should be the empty shell, and voila, above message!


    To be honest. Any help would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Kirstin

    Kirstin Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Umm OK this is my first post, but it looks like the domain mentioned above doesn't exisit, i.e is not registered. Who did your register it with?
     
  3. hamper

    hamper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is your DNS setup correctly? Is it registered and done with propagation?
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Yep, that puppy's not been registered yet.
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    The .com is registered, but .net isn't.
     
  6. reQ

    reQ Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, right. I'm sorry to sound silly here. But I am super new to this all.

    Can I get some extra help please..

    Firstly, Kirsten, I registered the domain name .net today with my hosting company (www.hosting-unlimited.net). I'm confident that the domain name has been set-up, however I'm unsure if there's a 'cooling off' period between the time of purchase and useage.

    I have no idea. I don't even know where to start looking for that kinda information to be perfectly honest with you.

    What is the common way to register a domain?
     
  7. avijit

    avijit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Buy a domain from reputed domain name provider like godaddy.com or enom.com. Visit there site to get full details and prices.
     
  8. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    are you sure the .net domain is registered?

    http://whois.domaintools.com/pitchinvasion.net

    Is available for registration.. Perhaps firing a support ticket to your web host and asking them the details will be recommended solution. Request them to double confirm on your domain DNS setup on their server as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page