The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ProFTP Exploit

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Angel78, Sep 23, 2003.

  1. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
  2. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. trparky

    trparky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any word on a patch from CPanel?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /scripts/sysup or /scripts/upcp or a cpanel update from whm will fix this.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks, Nick. :)
     
  6. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yup :) overnight update installed the patch. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Your quite welcome :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    hrm, how do I know if this has beeen patched?

    The update when it gets to proftpd says done, but I dont remember it updating ..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    run /scripts/sysup

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. inspedium

    inspedium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I get the following error:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Update Cpanel then if you have this ...

    # rpm -q proftpd
    proftpd-1.2.8tlsp-6_linuxprivs

    You should be safe....

    If you have still this
    #rpm -q proftpd
    proftpd-1.2.8tls-2_linuxprivs

    You should not be safe ..
     
  12. inspedium

    inspedium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Funny, mine says:

    proftpd-1.2.8-1

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
     
  14. inspedium

    inspedium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    WHM 8.2.0 cPanel 8.2.0-R28

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    In this case , I don't know why you have proftpd-1.2.8-1 .
    Probably you don't have ftps , I suppose .

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. trparky

    trparky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any idea when this is going to be officially fixed?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It was fixed on the 23rd. It doesn't get any more official than Bdraco telling you to run something.
     
  18. trparky

    trparky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Than why doesn't this say so...
    220 ProFTPD 1.2.8 Server (ProFTPD) [hostname]

    It is still 1.2.8, and as far as the ProFTPD site says, it should be 1.2.8p.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have proftpd-1.2.8tlsp-6_linuxprivs. What do you see when you do an rpm -q proftpd?
     
  20. trparky

    trparky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    # rpm -q proftpd
    proftpd-1.2.8tlsp-6_linuxprivs

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page