The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ProFTPd 1.3.0 rejects login

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Blue|Fusion, May 16, 2005.

  1. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Well, the other day when the CURRENT build 88 came up, I updated cpanel and it upgraded ProFTPd to 1.3.0 with it. At the time everything went smoothly, however today, several customers contacted me about FTP not working. I tried myself and saw there was a problem. I tried restarting the service and when that failed to fix the problem (although the service is running fine) I ran /scripts/ftpup --force. Still same problem. I tried syncing the FTP passwords and ran /scripts/upcp --force. Still same error after service restart. I finally moved the /etc/proftpd.conf to proftpd.conf.bak and ran the ftup --force which created the default configuration. I tried to login, and still the same problem. After a few more attempts at the ftpup --force and the configuration file stuff, I finally got it working, with really no modifications from the default config. It started working again for what seems like no reason (same way it got into this mess). However, a few hours later, I tried to login to ftp and I see the same problem.

    Up to this point, I can't repreduce it on any other of my servers which run the same software and versions. This also affects all FTP clients and users, and all customers, not just me.

    root@saturn [~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES release 3 (Taroon Update 4)
    root@saturn [~]# uname -r
    2.4.21-27.0.4.ELsmp
    root@saturn [~]# /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel -V
    10.2.0-CURRENT_88
    root@saturn [~]# proftpd -v
    - ProFTPD Version 1.3.0rc1

    FTP Session log:
     
  2. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Similar problem here...

    proftpd 1.3.0rc1

    Proftpd will start failing logins....

    Example- Log shows:

    May 16 21:21:20 xxx proftpd[19299]: xxx.yyy.net (69.3.205.252[69.3.205.252]) - FTP session opened.
    May 16 21:21:20 xxx proftpd[19299]: xxx.yyy.net (69.3.205.252[69.3.205.252]) - ProFTPD terminating (signal 11)
    May 16 21:21:20 xxx proftpd[19299]: xxx.yyy..net (69.3.205.252[69.3.205.252]) - FTP session closed.


    After username entry, User sees (and not prompted for password)-

    421 Service not available, remote server has closed connection
    Login failed.


    A restart of ProFTPd fixes -- for awhile. Sometimes it's fine for a few days -- sometimes for only a few hours, before breaking again.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Well an update on this (no solution yet):

    I tried logging in ftp locally, too, but still nothing.

    Doing so on another server running all the same versions:
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Since it's a new release, I'd suggest you log it in bugzilla or through a support ticket so that cPanel can investigate it further for you.
     
  5. networxhosting

    networxhosting Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario, CANADA
    I am having this same problem on one of our servers

    Have you found a solution? I'm currently investigating now but havent had any luck...
     
  6. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I came cross this problem with one of our clients long time ago, so I can't remember what I did to correct the problem. Any way, you need to make sure no other proftpd instances are running before you start proftpd in debugging mode. You also need to check your PostgreSQL. It might has something to do with ProFTPD problem.

    Let me ask you this, are you behind a firewall when trying to FTP? If yes, the firewall isn't allowing the incomming reverse connection from the ftp server. In this case, you need to enable PASV mode.

    Another thought is your /etc/hosts.allow. Do you have ALL: LOCAL in there?

    Hope this helps!
     
  7. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    It isn't a firewall issue, as it worked in the past just fine, and I even disabled APF on the server, and it started happening to all of my customers at once. It's highly unlikely they all changed their firewall settings at once. I also don't have PostgreSQL installed.

    To temporarily rectify the issue, I uninstalled the 1.3.0 RPM and installed the 1.2.10 RPm from here:
    http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/proftpd/

    No problems have came up since the downgrade.
     
  8. networxhosting

    networxhosting Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario, CANADA
    Im having issues still, and it seems that it goes away if i restart proftpd

    After a while, it starts giving a "control connection closed" error each time anyone tries to login

    The only way to fix it is to restart proftpd, but then the problem comes up again later

    This only started happening with proftpd 1.3.0 and only on one of our servers, all others are fine

    Seems very strange and i have NO idea how to do it... i would switch to pureftpd but we have all sorts of customers who freak out about having to change the way they login using internet Explorer FTP :(
     
  9. Starteck2002

    Starteck2002 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can always tell when we've had a CPanel update - my helpd desk goes crazy :-(

    I had this problem 2 days ago so I downgraded Cpanel and all was fine. Today it's all started again. I just wish these problems could be found and fixed before they end up on our servers.
     
  10. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Same problem here
     
  11. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The upgrade broke SSL/TLS on my server. Here is mod_tls log file:

    Code:
    May 20 12:28:29 mod_tls/2.1[29503]: using default OpenSSL verification locations (see $SSL_CERT_DIR)
    May 20 12:28:29 mod_tls/2.1[29503]: TLS/TLS-C requested, starting TLS handshake
    May 20 12:28:29 mod_tls/2.1[29505]: using default OpenSSL verification locations (see $SSL_CERT_DIR)
    May 20 12:28:29 mod_tls/2.1[29503]: unable to accept TLS connection:
      (1) error:1408F10B:SSL routines:SSL3_GET_RECORD:wrong version number
    
    In proftpd.conf I have:

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_tls.c>
    TLSEngine on
    TLSLog /var/log/ftp_tls.log
    TLSProtocol TLSv1
    TLSRequired off
    TLSRSACertificateFile /etc/ftpd-rsa.pem
    TLSRSACertificateKeyFile /etc/ftpd-rsa-key.pem
    TLSVerifyClient off
    </IfModule>
    
    -------------------------------
    Ok, I found the problem. Up to the new release of ProFTPD there was a bug - proftpd ignored the TLSProtocol directive. So now that they fixed it, this directive started to cause problems. (although I coppied the line "TLSProtocol TLSv1" from proftpd documentation. Anyway - just commenting this line fixes the problem.

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_tls.c>
    TLSEngine on
    TLSLog /var/log/ftp_tls.log
    #TLSProtocol TLSv1
    TLSRequired off
    TLSRSACertificateFile /etc/ftpd-rsa.pem
    TLSRSACertificateKeyFile /etc/ftpd-rsa-key.pem
    TLSVerifyClient off
    </IfModule>
    
     
    #11 panayot, May 20, 2005
    Last edited: May 20, 2005
  12. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Only downgrade helped in my case (Fedora 2). :mad:
     
  13. fniederm

    fniederm Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same problem with login here. Any fix?

    temporarly switched to pureftpd, seems ok.
     
    #13 fniederm, May 20, 2005
    Last edited: May 20, 2005
  14. dazmanultra

    dazmanultra Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    How do i switch over to pureftpd - edit no worries found it in FTP config. :)
     
    #14 dazmanultra, May 20, 2005
    Last edited: May 20, 2005
  15. fniederm

    fniederm Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In whm, just a click:

    Service Configuration -> FTP Configuration
     
  16. jeffheld

    jeffheld Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    financial capital
    ProFTPd 1.3 problems

    I had the same problem. I had to comment out all the "TLS" statements in the /etc/proftpd.conf file.

    Does anyone know what the "TLS" stuff does? I didn't just open up a security hole by commenting those out did I?
     
  17. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    TLS allows your users to have their username and password encrypted through SSL when they connect to ftp. If you disable it, they will have have to use only plain ftp without encryption. Not exactly a security hole, but it will be easier for their passwords to be sniffed, which could give hackers access to your server. (A lot of customers dont use TLS or SSL even if they have it available anyway)
     
  18. thedead

    thedead Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    comments out the TSLS stuff and works fine
     
  19. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Bugzilla Bug 2529 has been opened on this issue with cPanel. There is also an outstanding Bugzilla Bug 2571 open with ProFTPd themselves.
     
  20. radical

    radical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    proftp not allowing ftp users to login

    using WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-R82 CentOS 3.4 i686 - WHM

    proftp on my server just stopped allowing users from logging in from yesterday, even though the passwords are correct. it throws up a disconnected from server message , after the user enters his password. i switched to pureftp and users were able to login. again when i switched back to Proftp, users were still able to login fine. But again the problem started today, when proftp refused to allow ftp logins. i am at my wits end trying to figure out why this is happening. i have for now temporarily switched back to pureftp, to allow ftp use for now. anybody else have similar problems

    thanks
    Sunny
     
Loading...

Share This Page