The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Proftpd 97 % cpu usage

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bjarne, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi!

    I have been restarting proftpd and killing prodtpd prossesses on multiple boxes at multiple ocations now ..

    I am realy conserned about it, because it is at least on 4 difrent servers. It creates load and I suspect can take some smaler boxes down also ...

    Anyone have the same experince latly?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. axishost

    axishost Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    pure-ftpd

    I switched over to pure-ftpd - it's a nice fast alternative and much faster with the login process

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have had some of that as well, and I too switched to the other one, and I also removed awstats from the server, as I believe that was actually the culprit, and the high load hasnt returned since then. When i re enabled it for a day, the load was soo high all day.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. erobs

    erobs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Was there any problem switching from Proftp to pureftp? I had heard there could be issues with making this change on a production box.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not really at first, but then down the road I ran into problems, I kept getting the subsystem locked errors and a few others but eventually they went away, and I changed back to proftpd for better stats and bandwidth logging.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  7. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page