The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

proftpd other port then 21

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bambipower, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. bambipower

    bambipower Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i try'd to change port 21 to another port, but when i change the configfile of proftp to other port, then i cant start proftpd.


    Can someone pls tell me how i can change it to another port then 21


    Thx in advance bambi
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    change it also at /etc/services.

    let me know if that did not help :)
     
  3. bambipower

    bambipower Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    this is what i find

    # 21 is registered to ftp, but also used by fsp
    ftp 21/tcp
    ftp 21/udp fsp fspd


    i changed both to port 804

    in my proftpd config i also changed to port 804

    but wont start

    did i edit something wrong?

    Btw thx for your help
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    for ftp .. there are 2 ports..

    one is for authentication and another for data. ie.. in normal case port 20.

    it is also there at /etc/services.

    try changing that too and start proftpd again.
     
  5. bambipower

    bambipower Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    still wont start


    i think it has something to do witch cpanel :(

    if you have more ideas, i would be thankfull
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i checked it myself .. and have switched the port for testing.. and it worked for me fine.

    i cannot explain anything more :( There is nothing else that need to be changed.

    mayb i will try it on another serer and let you know :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page