Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

proftpd update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bob c3, Nov 11, 2002.

  1. bob c3

    bob c3 Guest

    Greetings,

    This morning i got this message from root.

    (Thu Aug 1 10:28:22 2002) proftpd is not up to date (Fri Nov 8 18:15:13 2002) Retrieving http://updates.cpanel.net/pub/sysup//7.3/proftpd/proftpd-1.2.6tls-15_linuxprivs.i386.rpm

    This is an .rpm file? That just tries to fetch a real streaming video, right?

    What is another way to get this proftpd update?

    Bob
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Bob - rpm does not stand for streaming video in this instance. RPM is the software package manager. It is a way of packaging a software application for easy deployment in a *nix world.

    Seeing rpm packages getting installed is not a bad thing, it's a good thing, since it is coming from cpanel updates. The updates from CPanel try to keep all software related to your server/cpanel up-to-date.

    If you have the rpm extension defaulted to realvideo that may be an issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. bob c3

    bob c3 Guest

    that is the issue david. the ever insidious realplayer.

    i can change the default program for opening this file type, but, not sure which program to chose? browser?

    thanks david,

    bob
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Good question, I'm not sure myself how the RPM files work on a windows environment.

    Sorry bob, hopefully some else can answer this one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. bob c3

    bob c3 Guest

    thanks david.

    i uninstalled realplayer to get past that step but now i am stuck with no knowing how to run the file. at least i have it downloaded now.

    can someone else help me with how to run the .rpm on a windows machin?

    thanks,

    bob
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice