The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ProFTPD upgrade to 1.2.8 (howto)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by H2Hosting.com, May 12, 2003.

  1. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Default proftpd version on all cpanel servers - 1.2.4. Not good.

    HOWTO uprade to 1.2.8:

    mkdir /usr/src/proftpd
    cd /usr/src/proftpd
    wget ftp://ftp.proftpd.org/distrib/packages/RPMS/proftpd-1.2.8-1.i386.rpm
    wget ftp://ftp.proftpd.org/distrib/packages/RPMS/proftpd-standalone-1.2.8-1.i386.rpm
    cp /etc/proftpd.conf /etc/proftpd.conf.upgrade
    tar -cvf /etc/proftpd_archive.tar /etc/proftpd
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/proftpd stop
    rpm -Uvh proftpd-1.2.8-1.i386.rpm
    rpm -Uvh proftpd-standalone-1.2.8-1.i386.rpm
    cp /etc/proftpd.conf.upgrade /etc/proftpd.conf
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/proftpd start

    /usr/sbin/proftpd -v

    and you will see
    - ProFTPD Version 1.2.8

    USE IT ON YOUR OWN RISK!
     
    #1 H2Hosting.com, May 12, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2003
  2. keyDet79

    keyDet79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Excellent, thank you.
    One question though, do you know how to install proftpd with the following configuration: ./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc --with-modules=mod_sql:mod_sql_mysql --with-includes=/usr/include/mysql --with-libraries=/usr/lib/mysql

    I need to install it with mysql modules.

    Thanks.
     
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1.2.4? Thats not what i have on my servers. We have proftpd-1.2.6tls-15_linuxprivs. Also, how did you work around the problem where the next time you get your update from cPanel it will overwrite and -UvH another older version over your v1.2.8? :(
     
    #3 sexy_guy, May 12, 2003
    Last edited: May 12, 2003
  4. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm. Try on your test box first ;)
     
    #4 H2Hosting.com, May 12, 2003
    Last edited: May 12, 2003
  5. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Re: ProFTPD upgrade to 1.2.8 (howto)

    1) Yes, when you rpm -q proftpd, you see proftpd-1.2.6tls-15_linuxprivs...but when you /usr/sbin/proftpd -v - - ProFTPD Version 1.2.4 ;)

    2) Yes, it is a problem. I do not like how Cpanel upgrades software on the server. ;(
     
  6. keyDet79

    keyDet79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Don't have one. But I could back it up first, do you know which files/directories to back up?
     
  7. keyDet79

    keyDet79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Netherlands
    bump

    anyone?
     
  8. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'd backup /etc/* or at least /etc/proftpd/ and /etc/proftpd.conf

    What is your problem? Do you receive errors if you install from sources?
     
  9. AP

    AP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    after i upgrade as you said, now it only let 3 users log in. :mad:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. H2Hosting.com

    H2Hosting.com Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hm... impossible. Try to check out content of your proftpd.conf and proftpd.conf.upgrade

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. cmstalk

    cmstalk Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i am using proFTPD 1.2.4 as well, and i asked the ded. server company if they can upgrade for me but they said it if there is an upgrade, it has to come from Cpanel directly.

    I wanna upgrade to proFTPD 1.2.8 but i'm afraid something gonna go wrong, then I have to fix it myself because the server company do not support this issue.

    NOw the question is that how come Cpanel do not upgrade proFTPD? do they know proFTPD is 1.2.4 is very bad ?

    thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!

    Ok, I tried the above and on this line
    cp /etc/proftpd.conf /etc/proftpd.conf.upgrade
    I got no such file or directory.

    I am having a problem where any files I upload via WS_FTP Pro are getting changed to something like this pureftpd.3ef305c3.37.020b & I thought doing this update might fix it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. HollyRidge

    HollyRidge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garner NC USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hmmm something you said thing kinda put up a little flag there. Do you have your server setup to use proftp or pureftp? They are 2 totally different programs and cpanel servers can be setup to use one or the other from with web host manager.

    If you go to your whm... to to the "Server Setup" menu and click on "Tweak Ftp Settings" and it will tell you which one your server is setup to use. You can change it if you wish.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    Yeah I realized that shortly after I posted this. I think cPanel might have changed my FTP program in an effort to fix my problem with Anonymous FTP not working.

    Can everyone give me a vote on which one they like the best?
    proftp or pureftp

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. freedomfury

    freedomfury Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good stuff

    This worked like a charm Thanks alot

    Attempting to restart ftpserver
    Waiting for ftpserver to restart.... . . . . . . . . . . finished.

    ftpserver status proftpd (pid 19299) is running...




    ftpserver started ok

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. Pda0

    Pda0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Are there any vulnerabilities in 1.2.4? I think not :rolleyes:

    .pd

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. Pda0

    Pda0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Heh i found one, but its a denial of service 'only' (I worry mainly from root compromise)

    do this:

    http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/6341/solution/

    .pd

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page